On Second Thought…

On Second Thought...
Image provided by
Mike Licht @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/notionscapital/

I was pleasantly surprised by the feedback I got about my writing prompt, As It was Foretold. Reading the comments spurred inspiration to continue with the scene, making it a full-blown story.

The intention was for me to make it a short story to submit to a magazine. I went as far as responding to the comments by telling these kind readers of my plans. They had wanted me to continue the story in my blog, but, as to be expected, I got full of myself. I can assure you this doesn’t happen often, but when it does, I go all the way. Luckily, it doesn’t last very long.

I started writing about the other couple, who I named Carl and Beth. Mistakenly, because I wasn’t paying any attention to my limits, I expected the words to just come to me as I wrote. I know, extremely foolish. I had a whole other page written before I went back to read it.

I discovered that I had taken the story in circles, not getting anyplace. Of course, this brought me back down to earth, which I’m sure all of you are feel grateful for. I know I am. I realized that I couldn’t submit this story to a magazine, no matter what the rest of the story would be. I could make it shine like a beacon light and it still wouldn’t be accepted.

Why?

The story wasn’t original anymore. It was on my blog for the entire world to read.

Now I’m torn between leaving the scene as it is and trying to continue the story on future posts. If the best I can do is what I’ve already done, going around in circles, there’s just no point in giving it a shot. After rereading my small scene, I can envision how I could work with it but it would mean editing what I already have.

Now then… do I want to do this? I’m undecided. Maybe I’ll feel differently once I hit the 10,000-word mark on my writing project.

 

10 Replies to “On Second Thought…”

  1. What a dilemma. I’ve heard of this happening too. Someone posts something with a ton of potential and later finds out that they by posting it they’ve ruined their chances of getting it published. But, maybe you can change it around just a little to make it different enough to bypass that whole issue.

    Like

    1. I’m hoping so. Like I told Suzanne, I probably will be rewriting it, making multiple changes and adding a lot as well. If I think it reads well enough, I’ll submit it. 😀
      Thank you for the vote of confidence.

      Like

  2. No matter what you do, don’t give up on your story. You never know you might be able to stretch it into a short story or novella form and make your own anthology of shorter stories and self publish 🙂

    Like

    1. You know, Amanda, you may have something there. I haven’t actually given up on it. I’m just having a struggle decided what exactly is the best thing to do. Thanks for the encouragement. Always appreciated. 🙂

      Like

  3. I have read (and heard) that all good writers, write and then re-write.
    Re-write and change it to the way in which you want it to go Glynis. Have faith and do it 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you for the encouragement, Suzanne. Chances are I will do a rewrite changing much of it and adding too. Then, if I think it might be good enough, I’ll submit it to a magazine. 😀

      Like

  4. Glynis, by the time your complete the story, you may end up changing the beginning, the middle and who knows what, because it will take you in an unexpected direction. Don’t edit until you have it all written. Put it aside for a while, then go back to it and read it with new eyes.
    Just because you started gung-ho and then slowed down doesn’t mean this story doesn’t have merit. Have faith in yourself.
    Hemingway said, “I write one page of masterpiece to ninety-one pages of shit. I try to put the shit in the wastebasket.” 😀

    Like

    1. LOL! Did Hemingway really say that? Love it, Tess. I’m going to reread it this weekend, probably not until Sunday. I do think there’s a story in it. Instead of it being on the tip on my tongue though, I think it’s at the back of my brain somewhere. Hopefully it’ll come out of hiding in a couple of days. 😉

      Thank you for the terrific moral support. 😀

      Like

Please comment on this post.

