Personal Obstinacies

Personal Obstinacies
Image provided by
soyculto @ http://www.flickr.com/photos/bodavickyseba/

Some say I’m just plain crazy and leave it at that. The reasons I give for some of the things I do and some of the things I feel I need sound silly, ludicrous and even insane to most. They say I’m being stubborn or unreasonable.

Yet, I persist. I feel that I need some things a certain way in order to do them, have them make sense to me, or for the circumstances to turn out right.

Some are habits I refuse to give up. Some are the order in which I do some things. Some are actually superstitions that, in most cases, have been proven to be true.

I know. You think I’m out of my mind. You think that maybe you should consider distancing yourself from me a little more.

I’m asking you to put off your judgment of me. After all, you may have some obstinacies of your own that you harbor and they’re just different from mine.

Obstinacy #1

I must prepare my first cup, well… really a giant mug of coffee in the morning.

I want my coffee a certain way and if it isn’t that way first thing in the morning, chances are I’m a Grinch for the rest of the day. After that first cup (mug), I mellow out. If someone else fixes my coffee and it’s off a little or a lot, I can live with it.

Obstinacy #2

I must brush my teeth before taking my shower in the morning and have it be the very last thing I do before going to bed at night.

This one is because I have what is called Short-Term Memory Loss. If I don’t brush my teeth at these times, there’s an excellent chance that I’ll forget to do it all together. You may think the one at night isn’t as important but, truly, it is. If I forget at night, the likelihood of me forgetting in the morning rises considerably.

Obstinacy #3

I must put on my socks and shoes last when getting dressed.

I think with most people shoes go on last. After all, if you’re not leaving the house or apartment, you may not even put on your shoes and instead, run around in your stocking feet. With me, if it isn’t shoes, it’s slippers with soles that aren’t slippery on tile, lament, or hardwood. This is just because my balance is wobbly at times. Putting on the socks next to last is because I end up feeling I didn’t do something right for the entire day if I don’t do it in this order.

Obstinacy #4

I drink whatever beverage I have after eating, not before.

Of course, this means I do not eat breakfast seeing that I need that first cup (mug) of coffee in the morning. I just prefer my beverage at the end of the meal. It doesn’t taste as good to me when I interchange it with food.

Obstinacy #5

Right after using scissors, book of stamps, wrapping paper, etc., they must be put back where they were.

This is one I have a hard time getting Hubby to do, and it drives me bonkers sometimes. The reason is, again, because of the Short-Term Memory Loss thing. I’ll never find those things unless they are put back where they belong and right away, not later. Yes, it’s a pain in the butt. No doubt about that.

Obstinacy #6

I will not talk about good things of the future.

This is a full-blown superstition. Anything I’ll working on that I’m hoping will be a good thing in the future I will not discuss with anyone. I didn’t talk about the townhouse I was buying until the papers were signed and I had the key in my hand. I said nothing, zilch, zero about how I felt while dating my husband even though, secretly I knew I loved him. It was when he asked me to marry him that I felt it was all right to talk about how I felt.

The only thing I haven’t been faithful about with this superstition is writing. Many of you know that I’m trying to get through a writing project that I’m hoping will be a novel in the future. However, I am just on the first draft. Chances are this will be the only draft you will know about until, if ever, the novel is published. (There are three who are exceptions of course because I need beta readers and one is a writing buddy too.)

There are probably more obstinacies that can be added to this list but these are the ones I’m most insistent upon.

 

Do you have any obstinacies or obsessions like these? I’d love to know if you’re willing to tell.

23 Replies to “Personal Obstinacies”

    1. My mother-in-law has cutlery that I’d love to have. The style is a tailored one and, as you say, feels nice in my hand. She just has her 2 boys so a lot of what she leaves them will be with my sister-in-law and me in mind. She doesn’t have any problems talking about when she leaves this life and has asked all of us what we love the most of what she has. So I spoke up and told her how I love her silverware and one small painting she has. Believe it or not, she made note of it. 🙂

      Like

        1. Yes, she is sensible. My father-in-law passed away five years ago. He had made sure years before that the finances were in order. I think she followed his lead and has started dividing items between the two boys on paper. I don’t think there’d be many problems anyway but this way it’s a for-sure thing.

          Like

  1. I have to have my coffee too, first thing. Although, at this point I do believe it’s just a matter of routine and not one of a necessity. I used to be, rather, neat and orderly, a place for everything and everything in its place kind of person. My need to have things in certain places has mellowed over the last few years, but I must admit I cannot write or begin any project unless the house is spotless – which rarely happens anymore.

    Like

    1. If I had to have my house spotless to write, I’d never get to it. Dear Hubby is a slob. He is not going to change. I have a set time that I MUST write 5 days a week. It’s only 2 hours but it’s there. I write at other times to but sporadically. 😉

      Like

  2. I don’t think you’re obstinate, I think you’ve just figured out the methods that work well for you. That’s practical knowledge gained through experience.
    You sound organized and thoughtful. It makes perfect sense to me.
    I say carry on and wave that “obstinate” freak flag proudly.
    Cheers!

    Like

    1. Thanks for the positive vote. I say I’m obstinate because I refuse to waver from doing these things differently no matter what someone else might want or where I am.
      An obstinate flag – uhmmm… that might be a good creative idea. I’ll think on it a while. 😛

      Like

  3. I like my coffee first thing in the morning–black and to read the morning paper as I drink it. For no other reason than I hate leaving a mess, I prefer to put things back after use. As well, it doesn’t matter that I have a drink with a meal, I cannot drink while I’m eating. I never worried about it. I simply drank it after the meal. Hate to drink before. 😛

    How’s the writing coming? 🙂
    Seventeen more days, Glynis. Time’s flying. The packing is going in stages.

    Like

    1. It’s remarkable that we live in two different countries when we think so much alike. 😀 True, there’s just the little differences in our languages though.

      About my writing — look in your inbox. 😉

      Like

  4. I love this because it sounds so like me. Is that a bad thing? I have an obsession with my morning coffee, without it I am a real pain in the butt. I have this thing about a certain kind of sock. They have to be a specific kind or I am a very unhappy camper… LOL. I too hesitate talking about the (good) future stuff for the same reason. I do wish you the greatest of success with your writing project. 🙂

    Like

  5. Many of us can relate to the cup of coffee in the morning thing. I tend to be a slight grump, but a couple of Thanksgivings ago we were in NYC at Grand Central Station and I had an honest to goodness coffee freakout. We were trying to figure out where to go, and my brain was just screaming coffee, coffee, coffee! I was so tired. I couldn’t think until I’d had my cup. When it comes to books, I don’t like to stop on odd-numbered pages or chapters. I will do anything to not pause on chapter 13. Some of this matters less now with eBooks now making page numbers less important.

    Like

    1. I can understand not wanting to stop at page or chapter 13. The rest is a bit more superstitious than I am. ;P
      I see page numbers in Kindle. I assumed that they’re the same as when the book is hard copy.

      Usually when I’m tired nothing including coffee is going to keep me awake. Only my own persistence will keep me going.

      Like

  6. Yup, coffee before moving too much, and I have to make it myself. Actually, anything to do with the inside of the house, I have to do myself. Although people call me a perfectionist, I don’t always see that as bad. Maybe I have to change that way of thinking?

    Like

    1. I think it has to do with what you think being a perfectionist is. I like some things a certain way. Anybody else’s way just doesn’t do it for me. I want my desk to only have certain items on it. Everything else must be put into one of the drawers and even then, it must be the drawer that item belongs in. To me, this sounds like someone who likes things ‘perfect’ or someone who is particular about what s/he wants.

      Like

    1. Isn’t is odd how writing in a fashion that the entire world can see can jog memories that you thought were long forgotten?

      Despite the fact that I know that keeping silence isn’t necessary, I stick to my guns on the superstition. I guess feelings just matter way more. 🙂

      Like

Please comment on this post.

