Meeting the Crazy Gardener

This is an added post. My regular post will be published tomorrow or the next day.

I didn’t mean to wait so long to read the comments I got for my last post but now I’m glad I did. I would have been writing the same thing over and over again.

Hubby and I made the trip from our yard to hers to met her and introduce ourselves. Her name is Sharon. Yes, her husband is a truck driver who comes home for three days each month. With her kids grown, she does get lonely sometimes. She raised her kids in that house, which gives you an idea of how long she has lived there. During those years she has only known 3 other neighbors, the family across the street, the couple who live on the other side of Hubby’s and my house and the people on the other side of her. Now she knows us too. I told her that I’m a semi-recluse so if she ever wants some company to come on over and I’ll serve coffee or ice tea.

15 Replies to “Meeting the Crazy Gardener”

  1. That was very sweet of you two to formally introduce yourselves to her, and the thought of having you there to have tea with, is probably very soothing for her.

    Like

    1. Chances are we will. Although I’m not sure, I’d say we’re close in age and both of us have a son and daughter (mine being a stepdaughter but raised her for nine years).

      Like

    1. Hi Jacqui

      As much as I laugh at her quirkiness about her yard and garden, I don’t really find fault with it. It’s just unusual to me. Although I like our property looking nice, it isn’t THE MOST important thing in my life. With Sharon, I think this might be the case. It’s one of the things I want to learn about her.

      I don’t have many friends. In fact, I have very little contact with the ones I have off the Internet. It’s my own fault, and now I find that I like the double dose of solitude my life has. I often wonder if this has anything to do with the advancement of technology. Some say it does.

      Like

    1. To tell the truth, I don’t feel like I’ve done anything to warrant being sweet. This is something I should have done five years ago. It doesn’t take a lot to smile and say hello.

      Like

    1. I found out Sharon’s husband’s name. It’s Rick. He’s a nice person too. He wishes he could spend more time with his grandchild. However, his job just won’t allow it.

      Yes, April. If you can find a comfortable way to know more of your neighbors or just find the courage, by all means go say hello. 🙂

      Like

Please comment on this post.

