Personal Journaling

Personal Journaling
Image provided by
JimileeK @ https://www.flickr.com/photos/jimileek/

Suzanne at It Goes On, started a project the last part of November called Life Makeover. I decided to join her in this project, but I did wonder how it would go during the weeks of the coming holidays of December and January. As suspected, the project had to be put on hold.

Suzanne came back to this project this last Thursday with a post about keeping a personal journal. Like her, I used to keep a journal/diary when I was a kid. Back then it was one of the popular things to do. Albeit, I wasn’t persistent about writing in it. It became my complaining book when I was angry at one of my parents, was upset about how I was treated by a boyfriend, or wanted to speak out about the injustice in the country at the time.

Life gets real busy as an adult. I found that I didn’t even think about writing down personal feeling, concerns, or triumphs. However, since I’ve had a blog/journal on the Internet, I’ve wondered if I should start this habit of personal journaling again.

What’s strange is I started keeping a private blog online right after I started following Suzanne with the Life Makeover project. She didn’t write anything in her blog until last week about keeping a journal. In this particular case, it’s just coincident that I started my journal last month. There was some issues I needed to air before they gobbled me up whole.

Nevertheless, my time with this journal has been a weekly event. Now with this project, if I’m going to let it try to do me any good, I need to push this activity up to a daily habit. As with most things I want to do that are good for me, saying it is so much easier than doing it. I’m glad that I took heed to the third assignment for this endeavor, learning how to schedule daily life without it getting too rigid. I already have myself scheduled for writing during the workweek. I just need to add some time and extend it into the weekends.

The next step will be to figure out what to write about every day. Last Friday I read a post in the blog, Today’s Author that gave me the answer to this annoying question. Initially, what it said was there are always things to write about. You just have to know how to look for them. Of course, I always had known this but still, someone needed to point it out to me. Oblivion is bliss, right?

Are you interested in getting in on this program? You can backtrack at Suzanne’s blog in the category, Life Makeover One Week at a Time. Then just subscribe to her blog at the top of any of the pages to follow along.

 

25 Replies to “Personal Journaling”

  1. I do usually write. a personal therapy journal twice weekly and with my 1-2 blog posts, I’m not sure I would have any more time. I read both articles you linked to, very interesting. Good luck with your writing, Glynis!

    Like

  2. “Life gets real busy as an adult.” You hit the nail on the head. As a kid and a teen, I looked forward to writing in my diaries after school or in the evenings. These days, it’s a different story. I come home from work or a trip out feeling exhausted. It is easier said than done. Funnily enough, this year I really want to experiment more with my writing and so have taken to writing at least 500 words a day on anything that comes to mind…so far, so good. I suppose that counts 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 500 words? That’s better than what I’m doing with my journal. Altogether, every day I write between 1000 to 1500 words, just not all in one place.

      Yes, it counts, Mabel.

      BTW, like your word, Funnily. 😀

      Like

      1. That’s true. We all write in several places in a day – emails, blogs, for work, the list goes on. I exclude my 500 words from all of that, I’m very hard on myself. Sometimes it takes less than half an hour, sometimes an hour.

        I love ‘funnily’ too. I always thought it was a synonym to ‘oddly’, correct me if I’m wrong.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m having to work at making it fit in despite the fact that after house work is done, all time is mine. I got into a habit of keeping things all bottled up several years ago. It interferes with my writing. Because I’ve always been a kind of quiet person, yelling isn’t going to work at all. My alternative — journaling.

      You didn’t like writing? But you write so beautifully. Where did all of this change?

      Like

  3. I think I have more old journals than I’ve had hot dinners. I was pretty avid back in the day, and I loved having a place to put down words. Weirdly enough, I was never concerned about privacy–even with three siblings–and even to this day, I can’t imagine not writing every single day. It’s a bit of a drug.
    I hope you’ll find the process a worthy one. You’ve got so many lovely things to say. And having the freedom to know no one is going to read some of your excerpts can be revelatory.
    Happy writing, Glynis!

    Like

    1. I wish I could feel at ease enough to write with people around like you do. I can do it at the library or McDonald’s but those people are strangers and have no interest in what I’m writing.

      Like

  4. I’ve tried journaling before. It didn’t work out for me. I believe it’s a lack of discipline on my part. Best wishes with your writing. I will look at the links you provided.
    Have a great week!

    Like

Please comment on this post.

