The Chill of the Morning – part 3

Sorry I’m a little late with this post. Even though Hubby and I don’t have any children at home anymore, we contracted strip throat somehow. I barely have it, but Hubby is suffering. I had the post all ready to go for scheduling last night, and just forgot to do it. My guess is I was just sick enough to allow my brain to go on vacation.

Did you miss part one and/or two?

part one | part two

The Chill of the Morning - part 3
Image provided by
Kerem Tapani @ https://www.flickr.com/photos/keremtapani/

The next morning I was walking to my car when I noticed that the same vehicle was still parked in Thomas’ driveway. Very strange to say the least. I went on to work filing what I saw in the back of my thoughts.

When I got back home in the late afternoon, the vehicle was gone. I was completely confused by that time and so much wanted to ask Vickie what was going on. However, I knew all too well that it wasn’t any of my business.

After changing into jeans and a sweatshirt, I sat down with a mug of coffee and read the newspaper. Halfway through the second article, there was a knock at my door. When I opened it, there was Bob Turner. “Hi, Detective. What can I do for you?”

“If you don’t mind, can I come in and ask you a few more questions?”

“Sure. Of course.”

He looked frozen. I got him a cup of coffee and we sat at the kitchen table.

“Did you see the Jeep parked at the Thomas house last night?” Bob asked before taking a swig of his coffee.

“Yes, I did. I couldn’t believe what I was seeing really. I was in my bedroom when I heard it. I looked out and there it was in their driveway. Did they rob the place again?” That was the only thing I could think of that could have happened.

“Ms. Croft, how close of friends are you to the Thomas’?”

“Vickie and I have coffee at each other’s house occasionally. I don’t really know Hugh. Why?”

“Do you know Vickie’s brother?”

“No, I didn’t know she had one.”

Turner took another swig before continuing. “The Jeep belongs to him. So you can’t vouch for him?”

“No. Like I said, I didn’t know that Vickie had a brother.”

“Just making sure,” Turner said. “I’ll get out of your hair now. Thank you for the coffee and the cooperation.”

When Turner left, I was more than a little mystified. Were the problems Vickie and Hugh worse than what Vickie hinted at? Did Vickie’s brother steal something from them? Does Vickie’s brother even own that Jeep? Am I coming to conclusions that don’t exist? My curiosity was sending my brain in all sorts of directions. I might just crash and burn.

The next morning I tiptoed on the cold cement of my front walk to retrieve the newspaper. After shutting the door behind me, I laid the paper out on the kitchen table with my coffee and toast. World crises were on the first and second pages. There on the third page was a picture of the Jeep parked in the Thomas’ driveway. I read the article underneath with bated breath.

The Thomas house had been robbed — by their nephew and his girlfriend. It still wasn’t known what their motive was, but both were waiting in jail for their hearing.

I had a theory as to how it all happened, which would explain the Jeep’s coming and goings. However, that’s all it is, a theory.

Moral to the story:

You can pick your friends. You can pick your nose. But you can’t pick your relatives.

 

12 Replies to “The Chill of the Morning – part 3”

    1. My next-door neighbor was having some problems (not marriage ones though). Although Hubby and I couldn’t really do anything to relief things, they did have us to talk to. We had been through similar times so I think we helped them stay calm through it.

      Glad you liked the story, Jacqui. I didn’t feel so frantic about this one.

      Like

  1. Well I am so far behind on reading blog posts that it’s not even funny these days so only just seeing this one. I do hope you’re feeling much better now. 🙂

    Like

Please comment on this post.

