Weekly Recap 3/21

Weekly Recap 3/21
Image provided by
epSos.de @ https://www.flickr.com/photos/epsos/

I’m a little earlier this week with this post. 😛

Life can get hectic at times and it usually chooses the most inopportune moment to do it. Here I come up with this total unoriginal idea for my blog (one regular post and one 7-day summary of writing and what-not) and my personal life gets all screwy.

Well, here’s what has been going on:

  • Hubby had gallbladder surgery March 9th. He’s been recovering nicely, but a few days ago he started milking the situation for all that it’s worth. Of course, this is just my opinion. Maybe he isn’t feeling as good as he was when he first came home from the hospital. I’ll just let things be and watch from a distance.
  • The WIP isn’t as far as I’d like it to be, but I am making progress. I’ve done the first scene summary, 2 character development sheets, and have started writing the first scene. I’m starting out by writing the scene in longhand to see if my clarity is better that way. Because I’m using a pen instead of a pencil, I’m seeing and having to keep my mistakes and the sentences I adjust. Is this good or bad? I don’t know yet.
  • This last week’s regular post was a writing prompt. Probably most of these posts will be this. It was a little fluffy for me but, at the same time, the overall theme was good.
  • The days are getting a little warmer. I’m anxiously waiting for it to be warm enough for me to sit in the car-port to have some time for reflective thinking.
  • During this past week, I’ve felt myself pulling away and becoming more unorthodox and withdrawn. This could be something selfish on my part, but I find myself wondering why I’m letting others govern how I act and who I am. In many ways, these unaccustomed feelings are  accelerating. I know, how can being withdrawn be stimulating. All I can say is that it’s nice not being weighed down with so many things that I know I can’t do anything about.

This next week I want to get that first scene done, write my regular post (of course), and work hard at making this house more of the home I want it to be.

How was your week?

 

25 Replies to “Weekly Recap 3/21”

  1. Everyone I knew who had their gallbladders removed told me how wonderful I would feel. Well, I wasn’t feeling well until I was in a lot of pain. Ended up in the ER. All my blood liver enzymes were way off—come to find out, I had two stones stuck in the common bile duct. I guess my surgeon wasn’t as perfect as he proclaimed.

    My week has been full of self-discovery. I would say you are on the right path if you don’t allow someone else govern how you act or who you are. You are unique and perfect the way you are.

    I can’t wait for the warmer weather so that I can sit outside and reflect–or daydream.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hubby had some small black stones, which, I guess, was the biggest problem. He’s getting his appetite back. Now to get him to want to do something other than watching the boob tube.

      I’ve had the windows open a little today to get the ‘house-atosis’ out. The air was getting so stale in here.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Having the recap public like this is helping me stay focused on what I want to accomplish short term. There’s a site (can’t remember the name or URL though) where I could do this recap thing. However, no one comments, which is one of the things that helps me.

      Hubby’s getting better. He’s finally eating meat again.

      Like

    1. Hi Debra

      I’m finding that marching to my own drummer is working well for me. I’m sure I’ll run into snags with some people but if they can’t understand, they can just be angry with me. Their feelings are their own.

      Hubby slowly get better day by day.

      Thanks for stopping by. 😀

      Like

  2. Glad to hear your partner in crime is getting back on his feet. Surgery can really knock the stuffing out of folks.
    And yes, it really is beginning to feel like spring is creeping in, a little late, but showing up, and I suppose that’s the most lovely thing. Rebirth and regrowth–which is a bit like the process of what you’re going through with the writing. I’ll be curious to see what you made of the writing out longhand version of your manuscript.
    Keep it up, Glynis. Breathe deep. Soldier on!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t hear (read) that phrase in a long time, Shelley (partner in crime). I used to use it all the time. I stopped using it when we moved here to Tennessee. People don’t get the jist of it. The longhand experiment isn’t going well so far but I’m going to try and see it through to the end of the week anyway.

      Like

  3. Sorry to read your hubby was/is poorly…hope he recovers soon(er) 😉 If I am struggling to think about a post, I will write in pen first. I wouldn’t write in pencil because it erases the memory of something that might have sounded better than the second choice…um…if that makes sense. I usually withdraw if I’m not feeling good about someone and very often that is someone who is trying to be a little bit too….let us say, influential. Hope this coming week is better

    Liked by 1 person

    1. For someone who lives across the big pond from me and is the opposite gender to boot, we seem to do a lot of things the same way. Yes, cross-throughs in pen are best for me too for the same reason. Yes, I clam up when someone tried to tell me what to do, when to do it, and how to do it. More often than not, I’ll purposely find a way to do something that it completely contrary to what I was told in those type of situations. Yes, I’m a little obstinate at time. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly, Kate. Until I decided to detach a little, I couldn’t see what I was doing to myself. Don’t make waves; let things lay; if you can’t say something nice, don’t say it at all; and so on and so forth. During the time I was growing up, most members of my family called me a rebel because I was so willing to speak out on subjects I knew something about. I haven’t been that person for a while and I miss her.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Surgery is no picnic; neither is recovery. Hope your hubby will get his zing back soon.
    I like this idea of a weekly summary, Glynis. Keeps you more focused and accountable to the schedule you’ve planned.
    I find this time of year, while waiting for the weather to improve, I’m a little blue myself. Open windows sounds like a great start. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hubby is up and about more each day now. I don’t know if it’s because he’s feeling better or that I’m not coddling him anymore. It could be both, I guess.

      You hit it right on the head, Tess. Be more focused and accountable. Actually, the second one I have felt all along because I’ve been writing posts about it every once in a while. The focus part though… I need to get tougher with myself, not let detractions get ahold of me.

      Tess, as I write this it’s 68F outside here. This is the time a laptop would come in handy. 😉

      Like

      1. I’m addicted to my laptop but it’s hard to use outside: glare problems. For the 3rd time in a week I’ve been given the dreaded blue screen. Must go shopping. but have been putting it off again and again.
        I’m jealous of your lovely temperature. ❤

        Like

        1. I’d probably be sitting in the carport outside IF I had a laptop. Because it’s covered, I don’t think I’d have the problem of the glare. Or I could invest in one of those screens for people who have severe visual issues. Oh well, it doesn’t make any difference anyway. The money isn’t here to spend on one more thing that isn’t desperately needed. Such is life.

          When I lived in Michigan, I lived pretty much due west of you on the other side of Lake Michigan, just above the Wisconsin border. Your warmer days probably won’t be there until the end of April or early May if I remember right. Still, you have come to the time of year when the melting is happening. 😀

          Like

  5. It’s fun to read how your week went. You have a lot to juggle, even though it seems not. Me, all I have is writing. I fear my recap would be pretty boring. Keep at this, Glynis. Let’s see where you are next week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m hoping to have found a routine I can live with. I don’t think I could write all day so I need to plan the other things going on so that I’m more or less forced into taking breaks that really get my mind of it.

      Like

  6. This is lovely idea, to summarize the week and come with one new post. This exercise gives a good time to reflect the work done and how to make the coming better…wishing your hubby a quicker recovery and a more vibrant and healthy life. Mine was hectic as I was travelling and attending a creative passion trail, and it was fun.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, the creative program was fantastic and we all enjoyed it. Lots of learning and lots of fun…did manage to put my lens to do work…
        It is all passion and how we nurture it.
        have a great week ahead.
        😀

        Like

Please comment on this post.

