Weekly Recap 6/13

Weekly Recap 6/13
Image provided by
Elsergietenapuros
@ https://www.flickr.com/photos/elsergietenapuros/

Officially, it isn’t summer yet but if you go by the temperatures here, it can’t be anything else. I am living in constant a/c. It wouldn’t be that bad outside if it wasn’t for the humidity. I don’t like fake air. Yes, I know I complain too much about it. It’s just that I’m a westerner where there isn’t any humidity.

Last Week’s Capers

  • I’ve been reading more this past week. The book that was lent to me last week was thought-provoking and, in some places, mind-blowing. Rachel Aaron’s words were common sense that, I’m sure, some writers miss. I know I was missing the cues for them. I finished the book and have notes on it.
  • I’ve gone back to the beginning of my WIP. No, I haven’t deleted what I’ve already written, but I will be using it more as notes and a little copy and paste into a whole new first draft. I’ve completed a plot outline, a novel summary, character profiles, and have started scene outlines. Am I being redundant? No, not really. Each one is either from a different angle or is more in depth. (I think in deductive sequences.)
  • I wish I had a housecleaning fairy. It’s a constant battle. And I just can’t let it stay dirty. I was raised by neat freaks.
  • Bike riding was the same.

Next Week’s Escapades

  • The same generous writer lent me another book, Write Better, Faster by Monica Leonelle. I’m on chapter 4 now. It’s going slow because I’m taking notes as I read.
  • WIP: I’ll be finishing the scene outlines and going back to fill in with more details. I’m going to have to figure out a way to slide the subplot in because it gives more understanding of the main character and what’s going on with her internally. Plus, it’s the other side of the coin of the title.
  • Of course, ride the bike. It does help me unwind and any physical exercise I’m able to do, I should do.

This week’s progress post is so short. I can’t help it. The long days of summer are like this. I hope the next week goes well for you. ❤

 

23 Replies to “Weekly Recap 6/13”

      1. You would think, but no. We will spend several weeks in the 90s with very high humidity. But, after the coldest month ever (February) I promised that I wouldn’t complain about the heat.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Do you live in the west? Judging from your comment, I’d say you do. If this is so, remember that the dry heat is a lot easier to take than the humid stuff. I’m originally from Denver. Lots of heat in the summer. However, all I had to do to cool off was sit in the shade of a tree for about 5 or 10 minutes.

      Isn’t odd how the a/c works in business buildings? I used to have a cardigan sweater I kept in the office. I’d take it off to go out for lunch and when I went home at 5pm.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m a product of my parents, no doubt about it. Can you imagine a man (not a boy) gathering his own dirty clothes up, checking to see if anyone else in the household has any, picking those up too, and walking the bundle down to the basement where the washer and dryer are. Plus he’ll put them in the hamper down there. He didn’t have to be asked to do it ever. This is what my father did every morning. His garage looked like a hardware store with everything in jars, boxes, whatever, stacked on shelves that covered 1 1/2 walls of the 2 1/2 car garage. Neighbors knew that if they needed something to get a project done, chances were my father had it and knew exactly where it was. Everyone borrowed from my father. My mom was just as bad. She took the old wax off the linoleum floor in the kitchen every Friday and put a new coat on — on her hands and knees no less. The house was always ready for company — 24/7. Yes, I’m kind of a neat freak. My brother is too. 😛

      Liked by 2 people

        1. I did when I was younger, although it wasn’t actually on my hands and knees. I’d sit Indian-style on a throw pillow and scooting around on my butt. Without the use of one hand, it was the only way I could think of to get the job done.

          Liked by 1 person

  1. I wish I had a housecleanign fairy too. Dishes are okay for me since I do them immediately after each meal. But then there’s laundry, ironing, arranging the closet, vacuuming…the list is endless!

    I hope the weather settles down for you soon and you can enjoy your summer 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. How about you do my dishes and I’ll do your vacuuming and laundry. Sorry, I don’t iron. I only buy wash and wear clothes.

      The weather probably will be like this until the end of September. You’ll just be starting your warmers months. From what I’ve read, the summers Down Under can be brutal with brush fires.

      Like

      1. Now you got me thinking. Do I really prefer doing the dishes over vacuuming and laundry? Yes, because with vacuuming comes dust and that makes me sneeze and I don’t have that much arm muscles for ironing 😀

        You are right.. We get those horrible bush fires in Australia every year. Lots of bushland and it really is very dry here.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I think you’re in one of the most delicious places in the world of storytelling craft, Glynis. To have your plot outlines, some scene outlines, your character sketches and the main summary all completed? Oh, heaven. Now the juicy bits begin. The action, the dialogue, all the meaty bits that make a novel unputdownable. Savor it.
    I hope this week explodes with exciting writing. And I hope the heat dies down a notch or two.
    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the good luck. It may be a little easy though. A friend emailed me discussing her character development sheets. Originally, I didn’t think I’d need them but after seeing what she’s doing, yep, I need them. They should go fairly quickly though seeing that I have my original 1st draft to help with it.

      Like

Please comment on this post.

