Weekly Recap 7/25

Weekly Recap 7/25
Image provided by
Mikhail Esteves
@ https://www.flickr.com/photos/jackol/

Do you, by change know where summer is going in such a hurry? I sure don’t know and now am questioning why I didn’t make more time to enjoy some of it. True, I have approximately two months left to do something about this grave error I’ve make.

Regrettably, there’s a good possibility that other matters are so grave that I won’t be seeing a lot of this season. My WiP has stalled. The foremost reason is that I have other life situations getting in the way of my ability to concentrate on any of the scenes. The secondary cause is I’m so close to the climax and it looks like fear is fogging my brain.

It could be the number one reason is part of the problem to the second one as well. I’m tied up in knots about many things in my pocket-sized existence right now. I need to make some tough decisions and follow through with them.

I loathe times like this. I just want it all to go away. Ironically, the only way I’m going to get to that place where all of it has vanished is to make the tough determinations and carry on with the action necessary. I hate upheaval and I know that whatever I go forward with is going to create just that.

As they say (who, I don’t know), “A little rain must fall.” I can’t say I’m all that scared about what I’m about to embark on to straighten things out. Still, because I don’t know what the outcome will be, I am apprehensive.

If you haven’t noticed yet, this isn’t like my other posts I’ve been writing since May. Eventually I’ll get it all back to something similar if not the same as it was. My posts for a short time will be sparse and probably minimal.

A writer’s mind seems to be situated partly in the solar plexus and partly in the head. ~Ethel Wilson

 

16 Replies to “Weekly Recap 7/25”

  1. All the best, Glynis. It sounds like a challenging time for you and I hope you work through it. Where there are tough times, there are always better times ahead. Love that quote you shared about writing. Seems like the writer’s mind is stretched, pulled in many directions at one time…I guess that happens when we have multiple ideas and don’t know how to tie them altogether.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We’re having a wonderful cool summer in London, the coldest July on record, lovely! Usually the heat is stifling, so I’m happy, but almost ashamed to admit the potable air con went off and the heating switched on the last couple of nighta….but only for 1hr!

    Bringing about change can be scary, but the fear of the outcome seems to make matters feel worse and it can sometimes be better if we just press ahead regardless. Please feel free to email anytime, Glynis. I hope you’re WIP will pick up soon, which I just know it will once you clear the way.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. These are those moments–the ones that fill up space on the awful end of the “life spectrum” scale that we’re not to fond of moving through. The sticky ones, the painful ones, the life-altering, perspective shifting ones. But they’re part of most everyone’s existence. And as a writer, you will draw from that emotional well to strengthen and deepen your art. Once you get to the other side–and you will–it is yet another color on your palette.
    Hang in there, Glynis.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m probably making way too much of my current dilemma. There’s just some things in my life that I’m not good at handling. The irrational fear sets in making each step feel like I’m in quicksand, when in all probability, any advancement I make is on solid ground. Sometimes I’m just a wuss.

      Like

    1. Hello Linda! Yes, it’s been way too long. I didn’t mean to ignore you or forget about you. I don’t have any good reasons, just a basketful of excuses. Yes, I’d like to keep in contact with you. I’ve put your name, site, and email addy in my contacts. I’ll send you a note later on today.

      Like

Please comment on this post.

