My New Blog and Scene Colors

My New Blog and Scene Colors
by G. J. Jolly

A New Design for a New URL

Chances are you clicked over here from the blog where the name and the URL don’t match. However you got here, I’m glad you arrived and thank you for taking the time to be here.

Do you like this look? I know that I’m elated and impassioned by the painting I’m using for the header. It was created by Mark Chadwick. Somehow it says This captures you to me. I chose the light beige background because the white, I found out, was too intense and stark for a few of the people I know who grace my pages when they can. They had been avoiding my blog because it physically was hurting their eyes. I’m still uncomfortable with the span of the space for my entries, but I’ve had this wide berth before so I’m sure I’ll be able to accustom myself to it soon.

New Visitors

This blog is about, as the tag line in the header says, my perils in writing and whatnot. Please read my bios, the one on the sidebar and the one on the page called About (you’ll find the link at the top of all page).

I was going to spend the money on a year’s worth of redirect through WP until I took a look at my list of followers. I have only three — YES, three followers who are following me by email. And none of these three are regular commenters. I follow almost everyone by email so this was kind of a shocker to me. How many are using a feed software program? How many are using the Reader feature at WP?

Of course, not on this list are the people who plug into my posts from Facebook, Twitter, and Google+. Maybe it’s time for me to read some selected posts on how to do the Social Media thing. Does anyone know of some worthwhile articles on this subject?

§

The Colors of the Scene

Technically, it’s still summer here in the northern hemisphere. Yet, when I survey my backyard with the backdrop of the woods behind it, I see the signs of Autumn. Also there’s the fact that school is in session again. I associate children standing at the corner waiting for the bus as something that happens anytime but during the summer.

Living in Tennessee means a lot of brilliant colors during the fall. In my backyard, I’m seeing ripened wild raspberries. The maple trees along the edge of the woods are turning a rich shade, maroon. The tall elms are started to drop golden leaves onto our lawn. The Asters are in bloom with their elegant earth colors. Even the greenery is looking sunburned now.

My computer desk sits right next to a front window. It gives me many opportunities to see what’s amiss on my street. I see the kids walking down the middle of the street with their new clothes on and their new backpacks either on their back or one shoulder. (Growing up in a big city, I walked on sidewalks. This sign of rebellion by kids walking in the middle of the street isn’t one I’ve seen too much of.) Right now their chatter is about which teacher is absolutely horrid and which teacher is cool. Can you believe it? The slang term, cool, is still popular. Nineteen fifties, here we come.

§

Please speak out and give me your opinions about my new blog. I also welcome suggestions. 🙂 Oh, and please, if you’ve been following my blog in the past, re-follow my blog by electing to get emails or by just clicking on the follow button in the top strip. If you’re new, consider getting notified of future posts.

A good traveler has no fixed plans and is not intent upon arriving. A good artist lets his intuition lead him wherever it wants.
Lao-Tzu

 

4 Replies to “My New Blog and Scene Colors”

  1. This looks really nice, Glynis. I’m wondering how you manage to get your gravatar image to appear on the WP reader next to the name of your blog. Since they recently changed the format of something on thee reader, some people’s gravatar is an image and others (like me) are a standard logo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There’s two places at WP to have an icon. On the profile page in the Users section is where I have the Gravatar image (the woman sitting at a table with her laptop). On the General page of the Setting section I uploaded an image from my computer (the same one I used for the header). The one uploaded onto the General page is seen next the name of my blog in my bookmarks/favorites, throughout WordPress.Com, and may be showing up on search engines (not sure at all about this one). Probably if I switched my Gravatar or the one on the General page to the other one, the image would show up all over the internet. However, I like both so I use both. O_o

      Liked by 1 person

    1. This is weird. You’re not listed for email notification. A sure sign that WP doesn’t have all its ducks in a row. Maybe I need to do a poll.

      BTW, thank you for the warm fuzzys. 😀

      Like

Please comment on this post.

