Are You Meant For This?

Are You Meant For This?
from Bing.Com

If you’re not a serious writer, this post may still be able to talk to you. Just apply it to that work you’re so passionate about, or at least have thought you were.

§

Of course, as a writing, most of the blogs I read are penned by writers — not all, but most. Many of these bloggers have discussed topics that dance around the subject of motivation. There’s been topics about writer’s block, optimizing schedules for writing time, where to write to get the most out of it, moral support issues, and the list could probably go on for a while. As I stated though, this is all about the force that drives a person to express himself or herself through written words.

Although the business of writing can earn you money, I truly can’t think of it as a career. Sure, I read about developing a platform, making the social connections, and pushing for those contracts. Yes, that sounds like a career to me too. Regardless, I can’t wrap my head around the concept of writing really, truly, honestly being considered a career.

Why?

When I plop my butt down in front of my PC screen to write, or even at any other time (maybe this part is just me), the notion of money or fame doesn’t enter my head. In fact, as I sit here composing this entry, the thought of how many readers I acquire with this one post is, in my mind, an absolutely ludicrous objective. My soul purpose in writing this piece is to express my thoughts and feelings on this subject. Nothing more, nothing less. Yes, I want you, the reader to get something out of what I write — a nice boost for my ego — but that isn’t what has galvanized my actions here at my keyboard.

Motivation is an elusive component, no matter what the object of it is. A sound, a scene, a smell, an emotion is said to help trigger inspiration in some way, yet, for me, I don’t fathom how that can be. Either it’s there or it isn’t.

When I’m writing, I seem to need utter silence except for the whirl of the ceiling fan and the occasional vehicle that drives by on my street. Still, if I have a wild idea for a story I want to develop and my surroundings are chaotic at the time, I figure out something so that I can write. I’ll slam the door shut behind me in the back bedroom, with pen and spiral in my hand, making it clear to the entire house that I do not want to be disturbed.

What motivates me to write?

Everything and nothing in particular will trigger the urge for me to start pounding on the keyboard or scrawling in the spiral. My problem is more of one where I can’t decide which story idea is the one to pursue at that precise time. Once I’ve started working on a project, I desperately want to see it to the end without a break when I would be bound to chase after another writing idea. When I’ve done this, I’ve felt as if I’ve failed my mission. Needless to say, picking the appropriate story project is of utmost importance. When I have more than four or five ideas I can choose from, the decision takes me what seems like forever.

Still, this isn’t classified as motivation, is it?

Am I one of the few who sees, hears, smells, and feels motivation at the snap of fingers? Or am I one of the many? I don’t know. Do you?

If the motivation wasn’t gnawing at me almost 24/7, I rather doubt I’d want to even think of writing as a pastime, let alone my daily work. I would feel that I wasn’t meant to live in the realm of storytelling if the motivation was so exhausting to obtain for the task.

§

What do you think? Do you think I’ve fallen off my rocker and hit my head on a boulder?

It is necessary to write, if the days are not to slip emptily by. How else, indeed, to clap the net over the butterfly of the moment? For the moment passes, it is forgotten; the mood is gone; life itself is gone. That is where the writer scores over his fellows: he catches the changes of his mind on the hop. ~Vita Sackville-West

 

6 Replies to “Are You Meant For This?”

  1. I’m probably one of those blogs that isn’t a writer, but I do enjoy sitting at my keyboard and it needs to be silence, although outside is very noisy. I am not sure about motivation, but I certainly can’t switch it on. It’s not low motivation that would keep me from writing but an inferiority complex holds me back posting most of what I write

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cat, I don’t think of you as having an inferiority complex. Sure, lacking in confidence but from the way you writing and what you write, your self-esteem seems to be okay, just not flaunting it.

    Liked by 1 person

Please comment on this post.

