The Recognition of Goals

The Recognition of Goals
Image provided by
Kabo
@ https://www.flickr.com/photos/kaba/

It was a week ago this last Sunday that I posted the entry, Clashing to Fulfill Goals. I told you how I was taking chances by not making goals for myself. Skipping down the road of life dealing with things as they appear had become my norm since the kids had grown and ventured out on their own.

Maybe I was just weary from all those plans that must be made while children are growing up. Maybe I should have planned an extended vacation or sabbatical to recover from those years of always having something else that needed to be taken care of. Something like taking two or three years off from making schedules and the constant organization was the ticket I probably should have bought. Instead, I was sporadic, sometimes the super organized neat freak, and sometimes the lazy slob.

I can’t say I was happy.

My foresight is  atrocious — obviously.

Here I am getting ready to journey on the rocky path of elderliness and my perceptions of personal necessities have changed — drastically. Don’t most people my age start thinking about slowing down, if only a little bit? Don’t they start relishing the thought of sitting in comfortable chairs on the front porch observing the world as it goes by? Yet, here I sit at my keyboard trying to figure out schemes to fulfill dreams despite the decline of my mobility and probably my sanity.

Who else does this sort of thing? The only answer I can come up with is this: Only crazy lunatics who have a delusional conception of life’s longevity are doing this kind of thing.

Oh well. Such is life. Are there any other crazy old lunatics out there in cyberspace? Speak up!

§

When I first started writing my WiP (work-in-progress), I had given myself the anticipated deadline of May 2017 for the final draft that will be sent out into the world of publishing. I still think this is a good estimation of how much time I need. Howbeit, I didn’t go into any sub-goals. I thought about them. Still, I went by way of expecting intuition and luck to guide me.

Where was my brain? There are so many holidays coming up and I just know how my GAD (general anxiety disorder) is going to act up. It’s manageable, but only if I organize and schedule every little thing that’s important to me. Finishing my first book falls into this category, doesn’t it? Of course it does!

With this pointed consciousness, I have set up the following schedule for my ‘baby’.

2nd draft, halfway point
Dec. 15th
2nd draft, end point
March 15th
(Ides of March)
closed critique
(2 or 3 people)
3/15 to 4/15
start 3rd draft
April 16th
3rd draft, halfway point
June 30th
3rd draft, end point
Sept. 15th
semi-closed critique
9/15 to 10/15
make appropriate changes in draft
10/16 to 10/31
beta reading
11/1 to 11/30
make appropriate changes
12/1 to 12/14
send to professional editor
Dec. 15, 2016
???
until May 2017

§

For blogging, I thought I’d still keep that kind of loose. Oh sure, I’ve got my schedule for when posts on published, but I’m not going to designate what type of post for what day of the week. My blogging ideas run in spurts by subject. When I tried to organize my posts by topic, I got apathetic. I hope you can bear with me on this.

§

Now I have a question for you. Please, don’t be wishy-washy. I want some usable feedback, please.

What specific subjects within my categories would you like me to explore more? (The category list is at the bottom of the page. I’ve updated it a little.)

“Nothing in the world is worth having or worth doing unless it means effort, pain, difficulty… I have never in my life envied a human being who led an easy life. I have envied a great many people who led difficult lives and led them well.”
Theodore Roosevelt

§

ATTENTION!

If you look at the sidebar on your right, you’ll see that I’m helping a friend with a giveaway. Please check it out by clicking on the image.

 

7 Replies to “The Recognition of Goals”

  1. Coming from a blog that is driven by random thoughts, I think I’d like to just go along for the ride, wherever you decide to go. Dead ends, wrong turns are both fine, as is the occasional high-speed chase going the wrong way down a one way street.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That certainly looks like a reasonable schedule to go about completing your book. It’s not only about churning out the words and sentences, but it’s also about bringing lessons through the words you write – and that takes time. I think all of us can do with a bit of slowing down. After all, rushing only makes more anxious and time can only move so fast. When we’re in a hurry, we tend to miss the little things…and with writing a book, you really want to get every single detail right down to the tee. Once published and released into the wild, hard to change what you’ve penned.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 2017? Where are the increments of time? HOw did you get to 2017 in one fell swoop/ No pressure. 😀
    I believe to get anything done, we need deadlines. I’ve used deadlines all my life except when I retired and and AWAL. Do I need to move at the same speed as when I was working? I beginning to have second thoughts.
    *Sigh*
    I believe our goals change all the time. It is no longer good to put on too much pressure. A simmer is so much better than a hard boil for a good soup. 🙂 Isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I look at the November challenge and just know that there isn’t anyway I could pull off 50,000 words in 30 days. And this 2nd draft is going to be the hardest because I’m turning my skeleton of a story into something with substance. Yes, simmering is usually better than hard boiling. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Please comment on this post.

