Impeding the Writing

Impeding the Writing

The other day I read a post discussing the time needed to write a book, the time available to write one, the time that probably should be used to finish a story of approximately 85,000 words in all. To my astonishment, it lacked many details that going into the management of time needed to write a novel. Nonetheless, it provoked me to look at my progress with my WiP (Work-in-Progress).

Next month NaNoWriMo will be kicking off their bi-yearly writing challenge, 50,000 in 30 days. I think most people who read my blog know that I’m not participating. I have a terrible time reaching 700 words per day (totaling 21,000 in 30 days). I’d never survive the pressure this kind of event would put on me. The pressure has been bad enough as it is.

Since last month, when I started my second draft, I’ve felt myself slowing down with this story. I didn’t see anything wrong with the reduction in progress. Although I’ve given myself a deadline, it isn’t written in stone. I was having some outlandish problems with my project since finishing the first draft and this could have a bearing on why I’d become so deterred from the process. (Did I have a choice at this point?) I had to decide how to rebuild what I lost in the course of the dilemma I was facing.

This second draft has become my first one all over again, all because I mistakenly deleted the first write. Most of the crisis is my own damn fault, which doesn’t help my self-esteem one bit. I get so curious about what’s new out there that I lose sight of what I have. yWriter is a great tool for those of us who can’t afford Scrivener. I used it all during my first draft. Then, I came across a glitch when I switched to the updated version of the software, right before I started the second draft. I thought there was something terribly wrong with the program so I tried to switch back to the earlier version. It only took minutes for me to discover that changing back didn’t do anything for the problem.

I went searching for another free program to use. It didn’t take long for me to realize that I had the best free program for story writing–well, in my opinion anyway. I went back to my desktop, opened WPS Writer to retrieve my rtf of my manuscript and began transferring my story to YWriter.

This is where I made the fatal mistake. Somehow, I deleted many files within the yWriter program, losing much of my story. And, somehow in the process, it also deleted what I had on the WPS Writer too. Devastation doesn’t even come close to what I felt. How could I have been so careless? How stupid could I get? I even, somehow, lost my backup file in yWriter. Utter obtuseness.

I threw yWriter into my virtual trash can in sheer hysterics and let it disappear. I couldn’t see the point in going on with the software.

I started rewriting the story in WPS. Howbeit, I didn’t feel comfortable typing away in this word processor despite it being so close to Word I have to really dig for the differences. I knew what was wrong though. I wanted to be able to work in yWriter. I had gotten so familiar with all the tabs and facets.

I downloaded another copy of the program, entered in all the data I had worked with thus far. It was then that I decided to find out what was with the glitch. After all, having my work in the program wasn’t going to finish my book unless I could proceed with the typing. Yes, that’s what the glitch was about, forbidden to type within the software’s realm.

It was something so minor. Why didn’t I see it before? By checking one little box in “project settings” the function was unlocked, and once again, I started hammering out words on the keyboard.

§

Advice from utter foolishness: Take a closer assessment of what you have before leaping on to something else. Take the time to take cleansing breaths. It’ll stop you from leap when you should keep still.

Real difficulties can be overcome, it is only the imaginary ones that are unconquerable.  – Theodore N. Vail

 

13 Replies to “Impeding the Writing”

    1. I’m sure I’m not the first and won’t be the last. Still, the frustration and disappointment of the setback are really doing a number on me. But… I’ll get through it. You see, I’m a little stubborn. 😛

      Like

  1. I can feel your utter surprise (I’m being tactful). Sorry you had that awful experience. Ouch. ❤ ❤ ❤
    Tonight I had a story to post and my laptop seized up and wouldn't respond to any buttons I pressed. I thought I'd lost my night's work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do wish your computers would behave. They remind me of obstinate children.

      I’m surviving the blow. I do still have much of my preliminary work so I’m not lost outside my story anyway. I’m learning good lessons about the writing process this way. I guess some flub-ups are actually a forward motion. 😉

      Thanks for the moral support, Tess.

      Like

  2. Have you considered Google Drive as a free alternative? You can organise your documents into folders and sub-folders if needed. I tend to do a lot of my first drafts for blog articles on it these days. It auto-saves every few seconds (and when you stop typing) too.

    Like

    1. Drae, I keep all but my post writing in OneDrive (Microsoft’s version of Google Drive). I should probably keep copies of my posts too, but haven’t got around to downloading the ones from the past yet.

      Liked by 1 person

Please comment on this post.

