That Contrite Decision

That Constrite Decision
Image provided by Karim Moukalled
https://www.flickr.com/photos/karimmoukalled/

Have you ever been in that state of mind where you’re certain you can make the situation better with just a few tweaks? Nothing major, mind you. They’re the types of adjustments that show little on the surface, if at all, but you’re positive the changes will greatly improve your life in so way. After the choices are set in place, you may feel a little relief, giving you a sense of feigned tranquility. Of course, you don’t realize the calmness as being fake at the time.

I did such tweaking a few weeks ago. My hopes soared envisioning better organization. A diverse system of how I’d receive and send email depending on the reason for the transmission sounded ingenious to me. Individual compartments for different functions in total isolation from one another struck me as the way to go to help with the cognitive muddle that sometimes fogs my brain.

I set up a second email account at Gmail to handle all correspondence from WordPress.Com. The account I already had with Google, I designated for personal conversations. I set up my Outlook email account to receive and send from Twitter and blogs not affiliated with WordPress.

I felt a little off doing this adjustment though. There was a  personal paradoxical element to the matter. I’m not a fan of Google. Despite having an account at Google+ that I intend to keep and having that first email account with Gmail, I despise how the company tries to control the whole damn internet, making site owners jump through hoops of regulations and analysis tactics. Who decided their search engine had precedence over any of the others? But this is a whole other topic and I only bring up this much to explain the irony of my actions.

Five days ago I noticed how Google sites were sticking if more that one Google site was open in my browser. When a person has more than one Google account, the person has to open one in one of the next tabs while the one first opened is still in use. The person needs to click on his/her icon to do this. Just opening up another tab doesn’t work. You’ll end up back at that first account. Yes, ludicrous. The second tab of Gmail was sticking, forcing me to close my browser. True, I’m not using the Chrome browser. Windows doesn’t play well with Chrome anymore. My assumption is Google is trying to force me into buying a Mac or a Chrome book. Sorry fellas, but I’m poor. Besides, I hate Google trying to force me into doing anything at all. I refuse to let them become a monopoly. I deviated again. Sorry.

I finally had enough of the syrupy gooey mess associated with Gmail a couple of days ago. I changed my WordPress emails back to Outlook and forwarded all correspondence from the original Gmail account over to Outlook. The second Gmail account won’t be used. I’m just waiting for all the stragglers that may show up in that inbox so I can deal with them and delete that account.

Outlook isn’t fantastic by any means. It doesn’t always catch the junk before it dumps into the inbox. The options of design are minimal at best. Still, I like the setup there, which is, or in my opinion is the most important when choosing an email carrier site. I have two accounts with them although I just use the one. If I was ever to require the use of that second account, it could be done without ever opening another tab or window each time I’d want to use it. A much more efficient setup than at Google.

The idea of unrestricted separation to assist my mental shortcomings was a flop. This isn’t the first time I’ve tried doing something like this and I can’t expect it to be the last. I get in these moods of wanting to change something in the hopes of making everything better. It’s a complete emotional reaction to something that should be rational. Where it comes from is a mystery to me, except to say most thoughts of any kind that I have must go through the right side of my brain before hitting the left. I can’t even figure out when I get these zany ideas. Do they pop up when I’m trying to get out of a funk? Possibly, but I don’t know how that could be. Do they appear when I’m feeling exceptionally brave? I don’t think so but then again… Do these notions creep in what my brain needs a break from my WiP? Another possibility, although I can find better ways to spend my time.

I should pay more attention to this phenomena and maybe write about it.

§

What do you think?

I have made decisions that turned out to be wrong, and went back and did it another way, and still took less time than many who procrastinated over the original decision. Your brain is capable of handling 140, 000 million bits of information in one second, and if you take hours or days or weeks to reach a vital decision, you are short-circuiting your most valuable property. – Jerry Gillies

 

12 Replies to “That Contrite Decision”

  1. I’m so impressed by how you tried new ways of organizing your information. I’m too intimidated to do a thing with the computer unless someone else more technically savvy is sitting beside me. That it didn’t work perfectly isn’t a reflection of anything absent in your intelligence or approach, it just needs more adjustment. At least you set about to make it easier to identify and access your accounts to serve your needs better. And why should wanting to change something for the better be considered an emotional reaction? Sorry, I don’t see it that way. I see it as a creative impulse. You applied a logical system. Pretty brilliant to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sharon, so nice of you to call it a creative impulse. When I examine it, it looks more like a case of OCD. What I had before was working despite having to separate manually. How detailed does my organization have to be anyway? I tell my husband to stop mini-managing our discussions and yet, there I am mini-managing my email inbox. I’m my own worse enemy. O_o

      Liked by 1 person

  2. As technology evolves, I try different things, too. I think trying is more important that having it work. I’ve tried to manage gmail with the tabs, but that’s very confusing. Gmail is a curious beast.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Are you one of those who use the reader at WP? The idea is a good one theory. I tried it in an attempt to get rid of 3/4 of my email. It just didn’t work well for me. If WP could have a way for me to delete the posts I read as I travel down the stream, I probably would have stayed with it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I like the idea about separate emails for separate subjects. My brother in law helped me set up my emails on my iPad when I was in Vancouver over the New Year. He could not understand why I wanted them separate instead of one Inbox. I wondered if I had lost MY mind.
    About Google mail, I have two accounts and don’t need to close out of one to get to the other. I click on the second address and the inbox opens in another tab, both tabs open at the same time where I can toggle back and forth. Have I understood what you meant? I’m far from technically-minded so don’t understand how this works, but it does.
    Finding a better way which suits you is no sin. I take it as improvement on something that can be done better. Heck, I even tweak recipes I’ve never tried before. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The same thing happens with my two Gmail accounts so you are not confused there. However, something within my PC system or in my browser makes that 2nd Gmail screen freeze. It doesn’t happen with any other site I put into another tab, just Gmail. Maybe my PC hates Google as much as I do and is just voicing its opinion. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Please comment on this post.

