#weekendcoffeeshare: Quirks

#weekendcoffeeshare: Quirks
Image provided by Dave White
https://www.flickr.com/photos/mrdestructicity/

Diana at Part Time Monster hosts a weekly link-up, where you can submit a link to your post and browse everything else that’s been submitted, or you can use the #weekendcoffeeshare hashtag on Twitter or Facebook.

§

If we were to have coffee, I’d want it to be at a quaint coffee shop. It would be one of those places off the main drag that probably only has about ten to fifteen tables scattered around its four walls.

(Your dialogue is in purple. My dialogue is in green.)

···

As of a week ago yesterday, I have changed happy pills.

You look around trying to find the waitress. It looks like this is going to be one of those discussions full of ifs, ands, and buts, and you need coffee. The waitress, a middle-aged woman who has kept her figure, saunters over, jots down our order, and leaves.

Weren’t those other ones working? You were on them for over three years.

I know. I thought they were working, but remember last fall when I got the extra pill?

You nod your head and glance at the counter where the waitress is placing mugs on a tray. You turn back to me and look expecting.

The coffee is put before us with commentary rolls in a small basket. I grab the Hazelnut creamer while you load your coffee with sugar.

I hated that pill. I had zero motivation to do anything. I wasn’t doing anything but starting projects and never ever finishing them. And that was only when I had the gumption to be creative or productive in the first place.

I remember you talking about that.

You make a grimacing face after tasting your coffee. You reach for the sugar again.

I weaned myself off the stuff and tried to make do with what I had, the one antidepressant. I did make do but that was it. All during that time, I wanted to be totally alone. That’s the way I was the happiest.

It does explain your excuses for not coming to have coffee. However, you do know we’re social creatures, right?

Exactly!

I take a sip of coffee. The sweet nutty taste fills my mouth as I swallow.

Well, that sounds like depression to me. Why didn’t that pill work for you?

It wasn’t actually depression. It’s anxiety.

Your eyebrow furrow in puzzlement.

Anxiety isn’t just about out-and-out worry. You can be worried about how others view you or almost anything else, I guess, yet it’ll show up as confusion, self-loath, fear, sometime paranoia. With me it’s usually confusion and/or fear. Therefore, being alone is easier. No one else there to confuse me more than I’m already doing by myself. No one else there to make me feel afraid.

As we sip our coffee I can almost see the wheels turning in your mind. When you don’t say anything though, I continue.

I called the doc. Of course, he wasn’t available, but he’s good at calling back. However, it was his nurse who called me. She wasn’t sure if I should be switching drugs without an appointment. Yeh, I got that. I just asked her to talk to the doc and get back to me. I fully expected to have to make an appointment.

So how did that go?

I didn’t have the appointment. Because I had talked to the doc about the anxiety before and about weaning myself off that nasty drug, he already knew what he should try next on me. Presto, I get a call from the pharmacy telling me my new happy pill is ready.

I finally shut up and slurp some coffee down. Your cup is half gone already. You bite into a croissant roll before replying.

So now you’re happier?

I have to think about this for a moment. I nibble on one of the sourdough rolls while I stare into the space between me and the rest of the shop.

Maybe the word isn’t “happy”. I’m more in tuned with the world than I was last week. Before, it was either a case of time getting away from me or time was standing still. In fact, there were times when I’d look at the clock and swore I had gone back an hour or more. I’m in sync now, I guess.

Was that kosher for the doctor to subscribe without seeing you? I mean, what’s the chance of error?

Come on, this is a small community. My doc is popular but he’s not the only doctor in town. He knows most of his patients pretty well. Plus, when he was in medical school, his internship was at the hospital I used to work at many years ago–and his oldest daughter still lives in that area so I ask about her a lot. I’m confident my doc does know me. Any error would be there with or without the appointment just because this type of medicine is a trial and error thing anyway.

We hear tinkling. You put your reading glasses on and bring your cell phone from its hiding place in your handbag. You frown at the small screen. While you take the call, I gulp down the rest of my coffee and hail the waitress.

Those rolls are so good. Can we get refills on the coffee?

Sure. Want more rolls too?

No, I don’t think so, but thanks.

I push my bangs back away from my eyes. I need a trim. I look like an unkempt teenager.

Sorry about that. I should’ve never had children. I’m not fit as a parent.

What do you mean? You’re not perfect but your kids do well in school and they seem happy to me.

I’m losing my patience with both of them. I need, I need, I need. I want, I want, I want. They never shut up!

That isn’t your fault. That’s peers talking.

Our refills come. We repeat our routine of add-ons to our coffee.

Yeh, sure, I know. Sometimes I want to scream at them, maybe even take out their voice boxes.

We grin at each other and sip our coffee.

§

Rules for #weekendcoffeeshare

  1. Posts should be framed as a chat over coffee or some other beverage.
  2. Posts should be current (written within the week).
  3. Links go on the link-up, not in the comments section.
  4. Comment and share each others’ posts using #weekendcoffeeshare on Facebook and Twitter.

Actually, this seems to be the basic need of the human heart in nearly every great crisis – a good hot cup of coffee. ~Alexander King

 

27 Replies to “#weekendcoffeeshare: Quirks”

  1. Such an interesting narrative and monologue about dealing with our inner demons, Glynis. As someone who suffers from anxiety and sees a psychologist for it, I related to this. At this stage, I don’t take medication but doctors have considered prescribing me it. “more in tuned with the world”. I agree with this. Some days are better than others for us, and perhaps because things around us seem to be going well. Happiness is a state of mind and I think for a lot of us, we have to remind ourselves each other to be happy each day – and that requires some effort.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If you feel comfortable handling daily life without medication, by all means, keep on doing it. I did it for years when I was a young adult. Cognitive habits is what helped me the most back then. I still apply a lot of those to my life now.

      Happiness is an attitude–usually anyway. Those struggling with clinic depression can tell you that they want this attitude but somehow it eludes their lives.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. This coffee date is brilliant – three conversations going on at once, revealing surface discussions, internal thoughts, and a second person’s participation in the situation. The clever aspect for a reader is that we get to choose which voice is closest to “our own.”

    So sorry for the anxiety you suffer, Glynis. I’m going to come back and read this one again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t even think about the possibility of readers choosing their character, but you’re right.

      Sharon, I’ve been living with this anxiety jig for almost thirty years now. It’s pretty much engrained into my personality now. Such is life.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Just so you know, somehow your blog got deleted from the many that come by way of my email inbox. I haven’t a clue as to how this happened because you’re in the list of blogs I follow. I just popped over at your blog and clicked on the follow button again that shows up at the bottom of the page. Hopefully I’ll start getting the notifications again.

          “you are a brilliant writer” ???
          I think of myself as inept at best. I do have to admit your warm fuzzys are having an affect on me. Maybe I can get that first novel published.

          Like

          1. Glynis, thanks for letting me know about the blog doldrums. I don’t have the technical skill to figure this out, but I think my blog has been dropped from many other sites. I don’t participate in the other social media that most people employ, Facebook, etc. Many readers pick up posts from other sources than email in-boxes but mine can’t be accessed that way.
            I think many writers have self doubt about our skill, a good reason to give and get via blog posts. Stay with that novel.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I think what happened is their widget for subscribing by email went screwy. Earlier today I made sure to click on the follow button that pops up at the bottom. Within minutes I got an email confirming the subscription.

              Yes, having the blog gives us the opportunity to cheer each other on, which we may not have otherwise. Although I have an account with FB, I’m never at the site anymore. There are people who have lost their manners at the site causing all sorts of trouble. I refuse to be part of it. I do visit Twitter and Google+ once in a while. The manners are still in tact at those places.

              Liked by 1 person

  3. I like the way you presented the information with two two friends in a particular coffee shop. Sorry about anxiety and depression. I understand better now.
    Hope this week is kind to you and spring sunshine will put a spring into your step. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for stopping by, Elaine. This type of post is new to me but I want to keep on with in because of the way I can voice my views with it. Also, I got to explore a challenge with this one that can be difficult to define.

      Like

Please comment on this post.

