Nine Month Kickoff

nine-month-kickoff

Last Tuesday I started thinking about how I was going to get back on the train of the blogosphere after being somewhat MIA [missing in act] for six weeks. As an “unpublished” writer, I don’t feel qualified to give advice to any other writer, so posts stressing how to do anything concerning the craft is pure ludicrousness.

§

Before I get into that more, I was thinking some of you may be curious as to what I did during my semi-sabbatical.

Those of you who have been faithfully reading my blog know I took the time off to concentrate on my WiP. I didn’t goof off, giving hours every day to my unfinished manuscript. Still, I didn’t get as far along as I was hoping. 13,728 words so far. I can’t stop myself from looking for better words in the thesaurus. What’s with this obsession? I rationally know this is the first draft, yet I feel compelled to find the exact words I want. Yes, I also looked up spelling too but there are times when I’m so far off the mark that if I don’t correct it, I’ll never have a clue as to what I was trying to spell when looking at it later. Correcting the spelling cannot wait until the rewrite in my case.

I have learned to go a little deeper with my characters though. I had to allow myself to get off the beaten track in the story to show who my characters are. The first rewrite is probably going to be enormous, but then again, maybe not.

§

Okay, back to the original thought of this piece.

The idea of telling you about my writing life has appealed to me. Yes, I’ve been doing something of that all along. However, what if I go beyond this little corner where I have my padded chair and my PC in front of me? Maybe explore what it feels like to see the other parts of my life from the perception of the writer in me?

Some parts are going to include my judgments–my opinions. This may not set well with others in the writing community who read my blog. Nevertheless, I am going to stand firm, and hope that I’m not too offensive. I’m hoping by making sure readers know that I accept criticism in the comments, they’ll tolerate my point of view. I’m hoping a learn something too.

Today is Thursday. I’m more or less settled on making my posting day every Thursday, either that or every Wednesday. So many bloggers post on the weekend. I get it. They have jobs, kids, appointments, and so on happened throughout the workweek. Of course, this means I have blog upon blog to read during the weekend. Answering comments on top of giving comments sound like too much because I want to do other things during my days as well. You see, I still want have some time to write in each day, and spend a little time away from this blasted screen that isn’t for housework. I’m not going to run myself ragged and ruin the fun of having a blog.

§

What day would you like to see my post, Wednesday or Thursday? Additionally, is this idea of mine one you’d like to see in my blog?

“I have from the first felt sure that the writer, when he sits down to commence his novel, should do so, not because he has to tell a story, but because he has a story to tell. The novelist’s first novel will generally have sprung from the right cause.”
Anthony Trollope, Autobiography of Anthony Trollope

 

14 Replies to “Nine Month Kickoff”

  1. Congratulations, Glynis, on having achieved so much on your work in progress. If you’d like a bit of advice, may I suggest you not look at the number of words more than once a week. Concentrate on the writing and getting your story told the way you want.

    I also focus intensely on the section of the moment. Each word, each construct of the story has to be as right as I can make it. So if it takes two weeks to finish a chapter, that’s fine with me.

    And there are other things in life besides blogging, even, dare I say, than writing! If we don’t get out and experience the world, we’ll have nothing to write about. I’m even going to sign up for an art class, just for fun.

    I’m looking forward to reading your blog posts whenever you get them up. I always like conversing with you.

    Love the Anthony Trollope quote.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Your advice about the word count made my mind skip right over to dieting. Don’t look at the scale every day, do it just once a week. I do look at the count seeing that it’s just a tab away from the main page of the program I use, but I don’t gauge how I’m doing by what that number is, as a general rule. My real gauge is did I move the story along in the direction I want it to go. Sometimes that takes some words that are buried deep within me somewhere so, of course, the going gets slow. If I like how the story is going, I’m satisfied.

      My protagonist is patterned after someone I know. I’m trying to spend more time with this person so I can work better with the character. This takes time away from the screen and being a little social. I have to say I’m a little rusty at this.

      I’d like to take a class in sketching, maybe pastels after that. For some odd reason I’m not thrilled with painting and I know that painting doesn’t like me. Now, where, in this dinky little town can I find these classes, and do I have the money for it?

      I’m leaned strong on Thursdays for my posts. It’s closer to the weekends, which may help me keep some of the readers who have busy lives.

      When you come to visit, wear your bells so hopefully others will follow. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve found classes through the Emeritus program at a local community college, and they’re free. Don’t know if you have anything like that where you live. Another friend has had great luck with on line classes for very little.

        I like that line about the words buried deep within you. I feel the same way, and sometimes the story evolves in surprising ways that make the whole thing come together better than I expected. It seems you’ve established a good working rhythm.

        I’ll wear bells – leave bread crumbs too. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Regular blogs are good and bring expectation fro the readers but it’s also not too bad to blog just when you have something to say. Some loggers concentrate solely on one subject whether it be a WIP or nay, but I personally enjoy the blogs that allow me a closer look at the person behind the blog.
    If you feel like courting a little controversy then go for it but make clear to the trolls that certain types of comments will not be accepted. People must accept that some views differ from their own and that maybe constructive criticism may be OK but much better is just giving your own view and allowing someone else theirs.
    Whatever you decide I’m sure will be good and I’m sure will get good responses.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, you’re right, David. When I write one of those pieces I’m guessing may cause a little uproar, I’ll put a note at the bottom telling readers I will read and respect all comments as long as the comments aren’t vulgar or cruel.

      Like

  3. I agree with Sharon. Congratulations on your WiP. It really is quite an achievement. There are so many of us who can’t even get that far, be it due to the demands of reality or because of personal procrastination. In due time, I am sure you will make more progress and develop the characters further. I am like you with spelling – have to spell the world straight out or else I would have no clue what I might be getting at later. Same goes for grammar.

    I say post when you feel like it, scheduled day or not. It is up to you 🙂 I post on Thursdays roughly once a month. As you mentioned, I do notice bloggers posting on weekends – and when I do I take note of the interesting posts in my WP feed and come back later in the week to read and comment on them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know your schedule gets full, Mable. Once a month works for you. Your schedule works for me too. I like reading about the Asian way of life when it’s not within the Asian countries. The maneuvering you do within the western world is interesting to me. My stepdaughter does it too [Korean].

      I’ve always liked my life orderly so scheduling the posts is the way for me to go. Of course, there will be times when I will go off track and put a post in at a different time. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks, Glynis. Sometimes I get horribly stuck writing a blog post and it even feels even more time consuming writing one post a month.

        A bit of spontaneity is always good. Keeps things fresh, and keeps things interesting for you 😉

        Like

  4. Which day you choose doesn’t matter much to me, but having a schedule does help with the writing. At least I think so. If I’m not able to read your post the day it’s written, I will get to it. I’m OK with personal opinions. I think we grow by considering the thoughts of others. It sounds like the time away was put to good use. One thing you mentioned made me pause. Looking for the perfect word. I don’t know about you, but sometimes the perfect word doesn’t fit my personality. I like to sound like me, and sometimes, I’m not perfect, I’m just good enough to get by.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I understand about your “perfect word”. Actually, I’m the same way; at least I think I am. What I meant was that I need to find the word that I think is perfect. That doesn’t necessarily mean it’s the right one for everyone. For instance, “clunk” doesn’t mean the same as “clank” for me, yet they’re synonyms for each other.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. For me, either Wednesday or Thursday is fine. Often, I only get a weekly collection of a writer’s blog posts. In your case, I subscribe to daily so I will get it as you post.

    I’m not a fan of political opinions so I hope it won’t go that direction. Too often, they become a judgment of others. I do though love seeing the world through other people’s eyes. I’ve always enjoyed that in your posts.

    Like

    1. Jacqui, if you’re referring to actual political issues, I don’t do those–unless it has something to do with disability. Even then, I’ve selective. However, everything is a little political in our world. I will do my best to use tact at all times. If your view is different, I hope you share with me.

      Like

  6. Either day works for me; I’ll eventually find you no matter when you publish. I like reading the opinions of others, especially when I disagree, because then I have to think. And I’d very much like to see a post dedicated to the Trollope quote. Finally, congratulations on making substantial progress on your WiP.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, so far the decision for which day has been left solely to me so I’m relatively sure it will be Thursday.

      Anything I write that includes my opinion will be far away from the political arena of my country or anyone else’s. That stuff is just too nasty for me. I found Trollope at Goodreads. I haven’t read anything written by him yet, but I love that period in history so I really should.

      Like

Please comment on this post.

