#weekendcoffeeshare: I Have Lost My Impulse

#weekendcoffeeshare: I have Lost my Impulse
Image provided by Dave White
https://www.flickr.com/photos/mrdestructicity/

The Daily Post sponsors the #weekendcoffeeshare. If this is something you’d like to do, whether it be weekly like it’s supposed to be or the way I do it once a month, you can get the lowdown about it at the link above.

[Your dialogue is in purple.]

[My dialogue is in teal.]

§

If we were to have coffee…

We’re having our powwow at your choice spot, which I gather is Starbuck’s. After all, there aren’t many places in the US that can beat the variety of blends of coffee and creamer that are find there. Pricey but if we don’t use this place all the time, it can be managed.

We find a table away from the noise of the register and the hoards of people at the counter trying to make up their minds. We didn’t hesitate when we placed our preferences. I knew exactly what I wanted by the time I reached the counter. Chances are you knew what you wanted before you got to the door.

“I wonder why so many people can’t make up their minds about what coffee to get. I mean, most of these people have been here before numerous times.”

“Chances are they’re thinking about something else while they wait in line. Or it could be there’s so much to choose from, making their decisions are almost impossible. Still, they should come prepared, or, at least, step out of line until they’ve decided.”

“Exactly. You look tired. What’s up?”

I sip my coffee trying to find the words that will acutely describe what I’m going through. “I may be more distracted than some of these customers in here. I’ve lost my impulse with my writing. Not writing altogether but for anything that would prove I’m an author of any sort. You know, something meaningful.”

You finger your mug as you look down at the light brown swirls inside. You peer up at me. “You are an author. Your blog proves that. It’s meaningful, isn’t it?”

I have Lost My Impulse
by Michel Moreau
https://www.flickr.com/photos/xmaes/

I shake my head and stare at the cravings edged on the table. “Anyone can write in a blog as long as they have access to the internet. That doesn’t make anyone a writer, really. You know that. If I had a strong following, sure, maybe I could say I’m an author of sorts. Even so, I don’t think I could call myself a journalist at the point I’m at right now. Being a journalist would be okay. I don’t find anything wrong with that. Basically, that’s what being a good blogger is, writing articles for the masses to read. If the topics were enticing, it would be kind of fun. Nevertheless, what I write in my blog cannot be considered journalism, by any stretch of the imagination.”

It’s your turn to shake your head at me. You take a swig of your coffee and emphatically set it down. “Did you take one of those writer tests online?” I nod. “Did any of them say you weren’t a writer?” I shake my head. “Do you like writing?”

“Of course, I do. I’m just not all that good at it and probably never will be.” I sigh.

“Maybe you need to explore what type of writing you really and truly are happy doing. It could be you’re on the verge of the kind of writing that suits you perfectly but because you won’t get off the treadmill you, evidently, are on, you aren’t recognizing it.” You sit giving me a canny look as you cup both hands around your mug and sip the brew.

“I sure can’t be a reporter, not with my mobility issues. And the thought of writing a tech. book makes me cringe.” I case the shop and, finally, find a clock. “I’ll need to get going in a few minutes.” I take a gulp of my coffee.

You reach into your bag and bring out a notepad and pen. “Do me a favor and check out this site.” You write http://www.freelancewritinggigs.com/. “There’s an article there listing thirty types of writing that aren’t associated with writing a fictional book.”

I stare at the note, then smile. “Thanks.”

§

Have you ever been balked by your own writing to the point where you feel you can’t go forward?

“It’s a lack of clarity that creates chaos and frustration. Those emotions are poison to any living goal.” ― Steve Maraboli, Life, the Truth, and Being Free

 

13 thoughts on “#weekendcoffeeshare: I Have Lost My Impulse

  1. All the time. More times than I can count I write something and read it back and want to never look at it again. I think it helps if you write something that excites you. Because when you write something that excites you, you feel it and chances are others will relate to these real emotions too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The world is full of people who can’t write. You are not one of them. Maybe you haven’t found the type of writing you like. Maybe you just haven’t found the story you want to tell. The story you are uniquely qualified to tell. I’m sure it’s out there, and I know you could tell it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am much wiser than I give myself credit for. I gave you excellent advice.

    One further note: You’re wrong about blogging. The fact that you write an interesting blog does mean you’re a writer. Writing is about addressing your task-audience-purpose Blogging is different in all three of those areas, but no less relevant than a novel writer.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Of course you’re a writer, Glynis. Your blog posts are thoughtful and well put together. I can’t force confidence on you but I can assure you that you’re a writer.

    As for the book – we all bog down at times, staggered by a lack of critical information or a plot pivot we need to correct or a lack of stamina for reasons that may have nothing to do with writing. Don’t let it get you down. If you didn’t write today, do it tomorrow.

    As for those people who insist that they write every single day, from 5 AM to 12 noon and then run out to run a marathon and then volunteer at their kid’s school and then work at their paying job and then get home in time to prepare a gourmet dinner for six – oh, writers can be imaginative, can’t they?

    Some days I’m exhausted from dealing with my aging car or my aging mom, both of them with parts falling apart, or I’m dealing with the aftermath of a terrible lawsuit that shattered me, or I’m strugglng with the injury and I ache, or I have to do a ton of housework or – get this one – I go out for a few hours to be with a friend and just schmooze. So I may not write that day – but I am still a writer.

    Fill in any of the rocks that make yours a jagged path – wet feet or dry, you still cross the creek. You are a writer still.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wasn’t expecting to get so much moral support just from writing a post describing my current woes. And I didn’t touch on all my discontent because I don’t like to be knit-picky. I’ve known all along that writing is hard grueling work, that you must love it in order to dig into it and keep on doing it. Yet, if I don’t let some of the gunk out to fly through the cosmo every once in a while, I’ll go bonkers. This was one of those posts. 😛

      Thank you for the support, Shari. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. You write well, Glynis. When I read your posts, you come across as relaxed, not stressed and it shows in the flow of your writing. We are our own worst enemies. I read something today, you may find helpful. I’ll look for the post and come back and send it to you. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Tess. Anything to help my writing or my attitude is always appreciated. 😀

      Yes, I do believe I am my worst enemy, especially when it comes to writing. I really am trying to curb this in me. O_o

      Like

Please comment on this post.

