#weekendcoffeeshare: Being a Writer is More?

#weekendcoffeeshare: I have Lost my Impulse
Image provided by Dave White
https://www.flickr.com/photos/mrdestructicity/

The Daily Post sponsors the #weekendcoffeeshare. If this is something you’d like to do, whether it be weekly like it’s supposed to be or the way I do it, once a month. You can get the lowdown about it at the link above.

In the past, I have written this post dialogue style as if I was speaking to you face to face. Be that as it may, I began to dispute the intelligence of this format. After all, who am I to presume what you will say or, for that matter, what you think when, in actuality, we have not had the conversation at all.

My ruling is I will write the #weekendcoffeeshare more like most other bloggers write theirs, my thoughts alone and leaving your response for you to fill in down below in the comment section.

§

If we were to have coffee together…

…I would tell you how I feel about the less -spoken-about aspects of being a writer, those tasks I would rather ignore.

Most of the writer’s blogs I read have touched on the many facets of being a writer. I cannot say I have read them all, thinking I do not need to know everything right this minute seeing that I have not published for years. I have defended the belief I need to hone in on the writing itself until I have a final draft to send to an editor for the last time.

A short while ago, maybe five or six weeks, I began to ponder on the thought of me never getting anything published again other than the dribblings in this personal blog. The speculation was disquieting, to say the least. I am pretty sure I can do better, so I proceeded to do just that. That was when I wrote an article for an editor’s blog, Word Bank
Writing & Editing
, owned by Jeri Walker.

Sure, it is just writing still, but it was published on a blog that gets way more traffic than mine does. Additional, it had to meet the approved of an editor I admire.

After that small but significant milestone, I started visiting the social media sites more that I signed up with a long time ago. I cannot say I am enjoying these jaunts but I am trying anyway. This is the more I was hoping to put off for as long as possible. I do not do well with “small talk”. Oftentimes, I find it exceedingly trite and drudging. Yet, according to all those writer’s blogs, I must try to participate to get my name and work known. I know I will have to do launches if I ever get a book published. I know I should be available for book signings. However, this will only happen when a book is published. It is not an ongoing activity.

Another prospect or more I should consider, according to all I have read, is my own domain site. I cringe with detestation and panic at the notion of having to try that again. I had a good host site that even had 24/7 help by phone at no extra cost, yet I ended up with a site that, eventually, would not show up for anyone. I went through so many hours, both day and night, trying to fix it, endlessly speaking to representatives at the host site trying to get it to work. Can I go through that again? I have serious doubts.

An aspect [another more] I have not read about yet but probably will come across it eventually, is public speaking. I have been on stage but it was always with a musical instrument in my hands. It just sounds way too preposterous to me. I cannot imagine anyone wanting me, of all people on this planet, as a speaker for any kind of event. Yet, there have been a couple of writers who advocate this for their readers of their books about writing, exclaiming all writers should be able to speak well in front of an audience. Who are they kidding? Themselves maybe? I know some writers are extroverts. Still, I have a sneaky feeling most of us are introverts, at least to some degree.

When I took that mail course from Writers Digest at the turn of this century, it never entered my head that I would have to do anything out of the realm of writing other than book signings in order to make any progress.

Now it is your turn. What is your response to this? Let me know in the comment section below.

“You need three things to become a successful novelist: talent, luck and discipline. Discipline is the one element of those three things that you can control, and so that is the one that you have to focus on controlling, and you just have to hope and trust in the other two.” ― Michael Chabon

 

13 thoughts on “#weekendcoffeeshare: Being a Writer is More?

  1. Everyone should be able to do public speaking, but it’s not for everyone. While I can do it and often enjoy being in the limelight, I don’t seek it out as it takes a lot of energy for me to do it. I take the attitude – if invited I will speak, but I don’t go out seeking speaking engagements.

    Honestly, I got stuff to write first.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would probably say okay if I was asked to speak because I do not think I have stage fright. My hangup is I stutter sometimes, something I got rid of as a teenage but acquired again with the stroke. I do not expect any speaking engagements for a long time but I will have to keep it in my back files of my brain.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It is all about pushing our limits, innit. The old days of a publisher and agent handling everything are gone. Today, the author handles most things, even with an agent and publisher. Since I’m the Captain of my own ship, I skip doing the stuff I truly detest (like book signings) and pick only that stuff I can tolerate or (gasp) enjoy.

    BTW, I’d be happy to host a guest blog from you on WordDreams. I don’t write often enough about my personal take on the writing experience and this is a topic you’re excellent at.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jacqui, are you sure about that offer? I will think up some topics in the coming weeks–two weeks, okay, and yak at you about them.

      I know I need to play a more active role in this craft than just writing. What I have the most trouble with so far is the social media sites. Chit-chat just is not me.

      Like

  3. In one of my early jobs, I was so bad at speaking to a group, my boss made me enroll in Toastmasters. I have participated in that association several different times over the last 35 years, and I can say it definitely made me a much better public speaker, but it also helped my writing. I can (and have) agree to presentations in front of large audiences, guest lectures or conducting a training class with very little notice today. Toastmasters can be a life’s work, but you can also join for a short period and make some amazing progress. I have also been asked to write speeches for our Board members (most fun I’ve ever had in my job).

    I don’t do small talk in social media well, but I participate well enough to be known, and I have found that (some of) it helps bring people to my site.

    As for the post, I like the dialog style and I don’t mind you guessing at my reactions or comments. If you decide to go back to that, know that you have one person who won’t mind at all. Good luck with all of this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmmm. I was under the assumption that all of my readers were not really enjoying the #weekendcoffeeshare except for Jacqui. Obviously, I am wrong about that. I will do some thinking on some combination of this style and what I had before.

      How much does Toastmasters cost?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I should have mentioned that most Toastmaster clubs allow you to visit for a couple of meetings before deciding to join. The last club I was a member of gave visitors the opportunity to participate in Table Topics (2-minute impromptu speeches) but didn’t require you to do so.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I enjoyed this format for your coffee share because I discovered that you wrestle with many of the same issues I do, especially the need to be on social sites ito promote my book when I don’t especially enjoy doing so. On the other hand, I love my interactions with my blog readers, both on my blog and theirs. But it does take time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We are so similar, Janet. I enjoy my time at the blogs I am subscribed to and, also, get a kick out of answering the comments I get on my own blog. Maybe it is a case of more thought is usually put into a blog post and the comments on a blog than in the chit-chat of the social media sites.

      Like

  5. I always find it comforting to read that I’m not alone in this process of writing. I tend to agree with you, Glynis, that writers are introverts, just by the very nature of all the alone time writing requires. And, like the Chabon quote we need to focus on discipline. Life has so many distractions! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Now that writers can no longer rely on publishers and agents to take care of these extras, the distractions from writing have greatly multiplied. Yes, discipline is the only way to handle it.

      Liked by 1 person

Please comment on this post.

