#weekendcoffeeshare: Searching for Prompts

#weekendcoffeeshare: I have Lost my Impulse
Image provided by Dave White
https://www.flickr.com/photos/mrdestructicity/

The Daily Post sponsors the #weekendcoffeeshare. If this is something you’d like to do, whether it be weekly like it’s supposed to be or the way I do it, once a month, I hope you will join in.

Last month I tried writing this post in the style most are writing it, pretty much straight prose. I did get some feedback about the change telling me my readers kind of liked me guessing how they would reply as if we were truly at a coffee shop somewhere. They did not mind the straight prose though either. I admit I like both ways myself. My conclusion is to switch back and forth between the two styles.

Your dialogue is in Maroon. Mine is in Navy.

§

I pull into the parking lot of the Sisters’ Diner realizing your vehicle is not here yet. I look down at my wrist to discover I forgot my watch. I am probably way too early.

Once inside, I pick our place to sit and order some tea for myself. You walk up behind me.

“Tea!? I thought you were a diehard fan of coffee!” You slip into the seat across from me and order your coffee.

“I still love coffee. It just doesn’t like me. At home, I’m not just drinking tea. I am drinking green tea, no less. How’s your writing going?”

The waitress returns with your coffee and my tea. After pouring hot water into my cup, I swish the tea bag around in it trying to hurry up the process.

“It’s going okay, I guess. My short stories are becoming flashes though. They tell you to be concise but when you do that, your work becomes so lean there’s hardly anything there to read.” You sip your coffee cautiously.

“Are you describing completely? I mean, concise doesn’t mean leaving anything out.”

You furrow your eyebrows and frown at me. “I know what concise means. I think what it is, is I have picked the wrong critique group. I chose it because most of the writers in it write for magazines but I didn’t bother finding out what genre they write in. Most of them are writing non-fiction like opinion articles and memoirs.”

“I would think they need to describe thoroughly too–that is unless they write articles for rags. From what I gather, with rags, the writer is at the mercy of the powers that be.

Searching for Prompts
image by nerissa’s ring @ https://www.flickr.com/photos/21524179@N08/

“I almost forgot. I have gone back to non-fiction, myself.” I take a sip of tea while I look eagerly for your response.

“Maybe you should be going to this critique group instead of me.”

“Maybe I will once I have written something worthwhile. I’ve been on a hunt for prompts. There’s some out there for non-fiction but it’s slim pickings in comparison to the ones for fiction.”

The waitress comes by bringing complimentary mini muffins with jelly and butter. We don’t hesitate to take two each.

After you have put some spread on one of your muffins, you give me a thoughtful look. “Maybe you need to look up high school and college helps. You may have better luck finding that sort of stuff.”

I’ve already found a site like that. It’s more for instructors but it does have videos for students. It’s called Study.com.” I swallow a bite of muffin and take a swig of tea before continuing. “Actually, I don’t think I will need as many prompts with non-fiction as I have with fiction. After all, I don’t have to rely on my imagination. I just have to be creative in the way I present reality.” I give you a grin. “I even found a blog at WordPress.Com that is more for non-fiction than what else I’ve seen, Find Your Creative Muse.

Drinking your coffee, you give me a thoughtful look. “You might want to subscribe to some journalists’ blogs too.”

“That’s a good idea. I’ll check it out.”

We both have things that still need to be done by the end of the day so we gulp down the rest of our beverages and head out the door after paying the bill.

§

Where do you think I should look for prompts?

“But my way of writing is rather to think aloud, and follow my own humours, than much to consider who is listening to me; and, if I stop to consider what is proper to be said to this or that person, I shall soon come to doubt whether any part at all is proper.”
― Thomas de Quincey, Confessions of an English Opium Eater

 

10 Replies to “#weekendcoffeeshare: Searching for Prompts”

  1. I didn’t realize that you’ve switched to writing non-fiction exclusively, Glynis. I hope this is temporary and that you’ll return to the story you’ve worked on so hard. But I wish you well with your new venture. As for prompts – I have nothing to suggest. I’ve never responded to writing to prompts so that’s alien to me. I’m looking forward to reading your new work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am not sure if it is temporary or not yet, Shari. As I state so many times, I am a realist. Although I can be creative, I have such difficulty going out of the box of what I see in daily life. I am hoping this jaunt will open my eyes to what I am sure is all around me that I am missing somehow.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Good like with writing non-fiction, Glynis. To be honest I’m not much into prompts. These days I’ve been putting writing to the side – haven’t been feeling inspired, but also I want to try other things in life. But looking around and elsewhere like other blogs can certainly encourage you when you want to write but don’t feel the inspiration to….it’s a matter of staying engaged.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I write a lot of non-fiction (you can check it out at askatechteacher.com) on a ton of topics, but they all revolve around my expertise and are designed to share knowledge, maybe even attract freelance journalism opportunities. Is that what you’re thinking?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly, Jacqui. There is a small newspaper in this dinky town I live it. I know, that because of transportation problems, I could not be a reporter. However, there are two columns in this newspaper and one is–well, let us say the woman does not have that much to say. After I have done enough essays I feel are worth anything, I will spread out and write a few on this town. Hopefully, I can impress the editor-in-chief.

      Like

  4. I like the return to dialog. You can switch around as you like, but I did enjoy this. I’m not sure where you might find good non-fiction prompts, but if I see any, I’ll pass them along.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It’s interesting to me that in this conversation you explore the approaches and processes of writing fiction and writing nonfiction; I spent the last month trying to decide whether I want to write and publish another book of memoir and personal essays or try writing a novel. I know how to do the first because I’ve already done it. I don’t know how to write fiction, so it would be a learning curve, and yet, letting my imagination loose and not constraining it to my actualities seems liberating.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Janet, I thought the same thing when I began to write the first draft of my one and only fiction, which has not gone any farther. I was so sure I had enough imagination to write it and then some. Turns out I had barely enough of that special juice in me because when I tried to write another book–several times using different plots and characters–I found the juice was all gone. It was not writer’s block either. I think I just need to go back to what I know for certain for a while.

      Like

Please comment on this post.

