#amwriting: Health Disturbances and Writing

#amwriting: Health Disturbances and Writing

I do not bring up my health afflictions often but I do mention them on occasion because they do affect my writing. The last two times I wrote about my perils with health are here and here. [Both links open a new window.] These problems still inhibit my daily routine at times and probably will for the rest of my life.

In March of this year, Today’s Author published a post about ailments, asking their readers how they affect writing. I did not respond at the time, not being sure if my issues had much of an impact on how I perform as a writer.

Writing is a relatively passive activity, physically. Even if you are the type who would rather stand while typing or handwriting, the body is not doing much else. This is why I did not give much thought to my health issues while reading that post. I can certainly write when I have a cold as long as I have Kleenex handy. True, my disability is a hurdle but I learned to work with that a long time ago.

Nevertheless, my digestive problems do a backslash every once in a while on my competency to write. There are days when I am laying on the sofa unmoving while I try to concentrate on whatever is on the TV, hoping my gut will behave if I give it a chance to rest. Believe it or not, this often works, although it is just a temporary fix and I have lost a day at the keyboard.

Even when the symptoms are mild, my attempts to write suffers. There is the nagging little thoughts in the back of my mind asking how much longer do I have before I am forced to stop? Can I sit here long enough to get this scene done? Is the medicine going to work this time? These blasted problems prevent me from full concentration.

The article asked if the real life problems could be helpful in writing. From where I sit I do not see how that could ever be possible. No matter what type of crisis I am facing away from my desk, it has little chance of helping my writing until it is resolved. Until that time, it is a deplorable distraction that cannot be ignored.

As of late, I have been having more good days. The flare-ups still happen and, at times, are severe but not quite as often. My thoughts are clearer without all that fog caused by aches, discomfort, and added stress. The troublesome concerns are not intruding into the foreground as often.

§

All of us have our crosses to bear. Sometimes they take over our lives, making the pleasant times almost non-existent. Let me tell you, I do understand a little of whatever you are going through. I appreciate you taking the time to read my dribble while you try to cope.

Time and health are two precious assets that we don’t recognize and appreciate until they have been depleted. ~ Denis Waitley

§

note: Tomorrow my newsletter will be out. If you are a subscriber, please give some attention to my request at the end of my article. If you have not subscribed, please consider doing so.

 

11 Replies to “#amwriting: Health Disturbances and Writing”

    1. Your two health issues are ones I would assume would stop you cold. I used to get cluster headaches [something like migrants but sensitive to noise or light]. All I wanted to do was roll up in a ball and sleep. As of about ten years ago, I have not had any. I wonder if it had to do with menopause. Although I do have a tad of arthritis, it is not RA. From what I have learned, it can be exceedingly painful. I hope you are not suffering often with these afflictions, Jacqui.

      Like

  1. I’ve long believed it is those who overcome great obstacles who also make great strides and achievements. I’m so sorry that you struggle with your health but it’s perhaps what gives you the insight to be wise about what’s really important. Still, I hope you feel well much more often than not.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your post and the quote at the end are so apt for those of us who are aging and experiencing more health issues. I find it almost impossible to create writing when i don’t feel well for whatever reason. The upside is that I am able to read posts from my blog friends and comment even when various symptoms keep me from writing. As always, you gave me something to think about, and, like Dan, i wish you many more good days than bad.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Janet. Reaching the senior years do not upset me. In fact, since I was in my early forties, I was kind of looking forward to it. Now that I am here, I feel a certain kind of wholeness I did not have before. Still, the downward cycle of health is quite annoying.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I started writing due to a bad car accident. It was a way to distract me from the injuries sustained. I understand how feeling generally unwell most of the time can be difficult to overcome. I think the way you are addressing it and being open is a positive approach.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was in a car accident way long ago that prevented me from working for two years. It was life-changing as it seems yours was. Adversity can actually be a good thing if you can get past the ugliness of the struggles and hardship it causes.

      Liked by 1 person

Please comment on this post.

