The Practice of Meditation

Last Friday I sent my newsletter out just as I have every last Friday of the current month since I started the publication. However, the thirty-first of this month is today, which means its link is not in the sidebar of the last newsletter. It is out of sync, somewhat. I will include it in next month’s newsletter.

Way back during the corporate years, the 1980s, I decided to take advantage of a service my church provided, free spiritual counseling. It was not so much that I was having problems with my spiritual life per se but I could not, and still do not, find the need for what is termed as traditional prayer.

I know this type of prayer works well for some folks. My opinion is not aimed to change those who use the conventional method. More power to those who are satisfied with it. I just have not gotten anything from it.

I made my appointment with the man [Sorry, but I do not remember the man’s name.] who had a Master’s Degree in Psychology. My evening meeting with him was in the lower level of the rectory, in a large room that had only two chairs in it. The upper level was dark. Obviously, Father Andy was out doing something.

I told the man what I thought was the problem. He chuckled and gestured to one of the chairs, asking me to sit. He told me that many people think praying is just talking to the Almighty when it could be a time for the person to listen to Him/Her.

The traditional goal of meditation is to empty the mind of thought in order to cleanse it of the clutter. [At least, that is what I have read.] This is something I have a feeling is needed more now than it has ever been needed before. Everyone is in a hurry, has so much to do during a day, and so much to remember. I have tried to meditate to the point where my mind is empty without any luck. Thoughts and ideas barge in so easily and are almost impossible to get rid of after that.

The spiritual counselor instructed me on how to do meditative prayer. According to him, the person needs to keep on repeating, “I am listening,” until he or she feels the calmness of the meditation. Then, let the mind go on its own.

When I tried this method, it took what seemed like forever to get to that place where there is total calmness. Once there though, I was able to let my mind soar. When I came out of the self-induced trance, I felt serene, refreshed, and mentally strengthened. Did I listen? I do not know but I do feel that I opened my mind up to receive.

Back when I learned this practice, I would do it soon after I got home from work. Being a single parent is hard, so this type of relaxation is great when there is a child who needs your attention in the evening. I prepared better evening meals and was more attentive to my son’s needs because of this half hour regiment.

Nowadays I do my meditation just before climbing into bed to sleep at night. I find I fall asleep quicker and sleep a little sounder. I am more apt to wake in the morning with more alertness too.

§

Do you have a practice like this?

“Meditation is the dissolution of thoughts in Eternal awareness or Pure consciousness without objectification, knowing without thinking, merging finitude in infinity.”
Voltaire

 

25 Replies to “The Practice of Meditation”

  1. I’ve never done meditation before. But from the sounds of what you described and from what I’ve heard, it calms the mind and centres the soul. Never knew it could help with alertness. Usually each night when I lie down in my bed, I empty my thoughts and try not to think of anything, and that usually helps me relax – and sometimes feel most relaxed that day. Then I’ll drift off to sleep and hopefully, wake to a better tomorrow.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I used biofeedback to get some mobility back in my right arm, hand, and leg. Even though many of the tenants have shorted so much in my fingers making movement impossible at times, with the biofeedback technique, there are still times when I can wiggle them around.

      Have you tried using the blue light effect for your migraines?

      Like

  2. I find it an important practice. In spiritual terms, it’s a conversation – you talk and listen. The practice of mediation and quieting the mind is useful for so many things. I also find that it helps my overall creativity by letting my mind rest and work at deeper levels.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have never taken time to meditate, for me it’s taking time to write in my journal every night before I go to bed that tends to give me some kind of peace and sense of calm. I’d love to try this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dora, meditation gets easier as you get more practice at it. Starting with just sitting on the side of your bed with your eyes closed and your hands in your lap for ten minutes is sufficient. I only sit in this position for about twenty minutes. People well established at the practice usually sit for about an hour.

      Journaling is a good way to relax too. Putting your thoughts down with pen on paper really feels as though the thoughts can rest.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I continue to try to make meditation a daily practice, but I guess I haven’t made it enough of a priority for the habit to stick yet. My interest in meditation grew immensely after I listened to the audiobook of 10% Happier by Dan Harris.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had the routine of doing meditation down pat until I remarried. It took years for me to get back into it but it finally happened just by changing the time I do it. Does Dan Harris have his book in paperback. [I am strictly a visual person.]

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Awesome post! I have been meditating for over a year now. It’s great, I do 10 to 15 minutes a day in the morning. I find the benefits to be life changing over a long enough period of time.

    Like

      1. When i first started, I did it in the evening after work, but then I got really into having a morning routine/ritual and meditation became part of that.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Meditation is knowing oneself through the experience of bliss of oneness. The systematic steps of Yoga withdraw the mind from the external senses and make it concentrate inward. This internal focus harmonizes the mind with cosmic consciousness. Any activity where personal identity is lost as it merges into nothingness is an example of meditation. Thank you so much for sharing your words love your blog post and writeup.. keep in touch and keep sharing. visit ourblog to readd more about yoga and meditation hope it will helpfull and informative for you .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. First, thank you for reading my post. I hope you will visit again in the future.

      I visited your blog. I could not find where to subscribe to a newsletter or to the blog. Could you help with this? Because of my physical disability, yoga has been off my list. I am wondering if there are positions I might be able to so but do not know about them.

      Liked by 1 person

Please comment on this post.

