#thepersonalside: Strands of Respite

#thepersonalside: Strands of Respite
image by Sara Diaz @ https://www.flickr.com/photos/sarahdiaz/

Lee Martin, an established author with several books under his belt, wrote a blog post in June, Strings of Cause and Effect: Writing Our Ancestors. I found it interesting how his imagination is able to fathom how events had happened for his ancestors onto that life progress that lead to him.

My thoughts on this topic continued to the question: Do I consider all consequences to all of my actions during the course of a day?

My answer was no, I do not speculate on the ramification of every single action I take on a daily basic. I rather doubt anyone does this unless they may have tendencies to be compulsive/obsessive. I was taught that I should take these matter seriously, although I do not think the advice was meant for the commonplace going-ons. In many cases through out a day, I have not given much thought to whether some things should be done second instead of first. In many cases, I think it is taking the concept way too far.

Being a creator of habit, my answer is peculiar to me. After all, so much of what I do on a daily basis is ingrained in me from childhood. I brush my teeth both morning and night because my mother insisted upon it while I was growing up. I have made my bed each morning, unless sick, because that I have also done since early childhood. I was told teeth gather plaque at night while I sleep so the best way to keep is at a minimum at all times is to brush both morning and night. This is simple cause and effect. The bed sheets feel so good at night if they are not all crumpled and wrinkled. To get this good feeling each night, make the bed in the morning. Another simple case of cause and effect.

What I do today can and probably will have bearings on what happens tomorrow. Yet, in the middle of the day, I have an inclination to follow my mood at that particular moment. Do I feel I have earned it after doing some chores and a little bit of serious writing during the morning hours? Sometimes that is the case but I will let my muse lead me even if I procrastinated instead. Is it that I need to fuel up again? Sometimes this is true too but there are times when food does not strike me as a necessity then.

Still, come hell or high water, I end up lazing around in the middle of the day.

If I could somehow avoid this lull that comes over me when the sun is high, I wonder how much I could get done. What kind of effect would it have on me and my life? I might discover my optimum creative hours are when people are eating lunch and small children are taking naps. Maybe that would be the time I would actually polish the wood furniture instead just giving all of it a quick wipe with a cloth. Maybe I would not leave the monthly bills for my husband to do and, instead, sit at the kitchen table writing out the checks that need to be sent.

Causes and their effects do have a fascination about they. What I do at one point will have bearing on what happens to me at another point. And this can happen with no apparent connection between the two. I would have to reflect on past events in order to see the correlation, sometimes going back years.

§

Do you consider the strands of cause and effect in your life?

“Usually, when the distractions of daily life deplete our energy, the first thing we eliminate is the thing we eliminate is the thing we need the most: quiet, reflective time. Time to dream, time to contemplate what’s working and what’s not, so that we can make changes for the better. (January 17)”
Sarah Ban Breathnach, Simple Abundance: A Daybook of Comfort and Joy

§

Please help me draw more people to my newsletter
by sending this through Twitter.
[Just click on the text in the box.]

Tweet: Read the articles in the Scratching by G. J. Jolly monthly newsletter. Here’s some from the achieves. https://ctt.ec/aaen1+

 

8 Replies to “#thepersonalside: Strands of Respite”

  1. I agree that to be constantly concerned with cause and effect, even of very small actions, is probably a kind of psychosis. Daily routines are just the things we need to do to get through our day most effectively, but what one person considers essential, another may dismiss as insignificant. There’s a lot of evidence that daydreaming, or what may appear to be lazy inaction, leads to creativity.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. If my daydreaming was leading me to action of any sort, I would be in total agreement with you, Shari. However, mine does not seem to be prompting me into any direction. 😕

      Like

        1. Uhmm… what achievements? Shari, I do know what you mean, honest. It is just that in the past two years I have not done anything I would call productive. Right now my quest is to figure out why so I can fix it.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. I do a lot of what became habit as a youngster but now because it seems to work. Brushing my teeth–I have enough teeth problems without letting them get overly dirty. It just makes sense.

    But making my bed–I do only a cursory neatening despite your good point about the feel in the evening. You may have seen Admiral McRaven’s graduation ceremony speech (https://youtu.be/pxBQLFLei70) where he extols the virtues of a well-made bed. It is motivational.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was not until I married for the second time that I realized my obsession with making the bed was not universal, at least in my world. My husband and in-laws do pretty much what you do and think I am rather quirky. What can I say. I was brought up by a neat freak. O_o

      Like

Please comment on this post.

