#thepersonalside: NaNoWriMo? Nope.

#thepersonalside: NaNoWriMo? Nope.

We are on the backside of the first full week of National Novel Writing Month. As with all the years before, I am declining the invitation. Does this mean I’m not serious about writing? I’m sure there are a few authors/writers who would answer with an unequivocal “Yes.”

Some people write because they love the contention of the craft. They love how it spurs them to go beyond their comfort zone and into the beyond. They are those people who loved Field and Track Day at school, running to get the blue ribbon. I was not one of those kids and I’m not one of those writers either. My passion lies in the words, themselves, as I write them. I marvel how just one word can make all the difference. The only person I want to compete with is myself. Pressure from outside of me kicks up my anxiety too high.

So… what am I doing during this month of exertive writing for so many writers?

The Idea to Novel in 31 Days

Janice Hardy, the author of Fiction University, wrote a short version of her book, Idea to Novel in 31 Days, in her blog during this last month of October. I don’t have the money for the book or the workbook but I figured I could use what she so graciously gave on her blog. She even has an exercise at the end of each post. To make sure I wouldn’t lose track of this series, I saved each post in a special folder at Pearltrees.

Janice’s series won’t take me through to the end of the first draft. It will, however, help me with all the preliminary stuff, which is where I think I’ve been failing so miserably.

 An Article

I found a general topic I have had interest in since my college days, wellness beyond the doctor’s office. There are several parts to this vast subject so I thought I would try to write some articles about some of the major points and see if I can get them published in a magazine. I’m hoping my passion for the topic will help push me along to the very end.

The Holiday Season

The holiday season is upon us, whether we’re ready or not. It is time to go shopping for gifts and get those greeting cards ready to mail. Because my husband’s and my children live in other states, presents will be few and we’ll be sending gift cards with the special greeting cards except for the very young. Still, there are a few relatives who live close by so we’ll be hitting the strip malls to find things for them.

Movies on TV

Why is it that the networks put the better movies on at a time of year when many people are hustling and bustling to get ready for the holiday season? Don’t they know they’d have more viewers to watch the commercials at other times during the year? So be it, I’ll be turning to movies I love that are no longer at the box-office during this month.

§

What is in your plans for this month of November?

“October extinguished itself in a rush of howling winds and driving rain and November arrived, cold as frozen iron, with hard frosts every morning and icy drafts that bit at exposed hands and faces.”
J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

 

13 Replies to “#thepersonalside: NaNoWriMo? Nope.”

  1. I feel you! However, I’m taking part in NanoWrimo and have already fallen short. Yes, I have written only 3,000 words but I have till the end of December to complete my manuscript and self-publish in spring. I also wonder why we have the best movies and series released in the fall, it’s like a few days to the end of the year and there’s so much to get lost in!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t think the people in the movie and TV industry really see anything as a large picture. I have a feeling that they only think about how many weeks until the end of the year, which they feel is the end of their success until May or June. They don’t think outside the box.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, they are pretty much into sales and with a long holiday coming up, they feed viewers with lots of releases hence -binge watching! Well, fall and spring are pretty much award seasons, aren’t they?

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve already missed a couple of days doing the exercises because of a minor health issue but I think I’ll be able to catch up on the weekend. I did watch the movie, The Others, which I hope to eventually get on DVD.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I like your analogy to the track & field day. That seems to suit me as well. November will be busy, at work and at home, but I like the feeling of accomplishment that comes with small success, like getting two cars in the garage.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Some kids just love all that competition with others. I just couldn’t get into it. This next week I plan to do the Christmas cards to get them ready for their send-off the first week of December.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Glynis, I really like your idea of trying to write an article to see if you can get it published. Your general topic has broad appeal both for us older folks and those younger who have experienced serious injury or illness. I think newspapers that have a health section on a regular basis would be interested as well as magazines. And as for movies on TV, I share your frustration. Also, I believe I’ve told you before, but the quotes you attach to your posts are excellent. I particularly liked this one; it captured the transition from October to November.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. As you can tell, I may be living in Tennessee but my spirit is still in the Rockies. The people here think 54 degrees is cold. They’d never be able to handle the bitterness of late fall in Colorado, Wyoming, or Utah. [Notice I didn’t mention the states north of there.]

      I am waiting until I have three articles to present. I am hoping to get published in a “New Age” magazine.

      I was able to catch a movie on TV that intrigues me but haven’t found the DVD on it yet. Its title is “The Others”. Thoroughly enjoyed it, of course.

      Liked by 1 person

Please comment on this post.

